Across the Universe Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/05/2019

A slight yet remarkable work of art and music, "Across the Universe" delivers bursts of striking visuals and a timeless Beatles soundtrack set against a defining historical backdrop.

Rating of
2/4

Camper - wrote on 01/29/2015

The movie itself is pretty stupid but at least the soundtrack is spot on.

Rating of
2/4

Rod - wrote on 05/17/2014

A bad one. Sorry. Not the songs, the movie.

Rating of
1/4

lpd381 - wrote on 02/07/2012

I love the Beatles but this movie is just horrible. It's horribly pretentious and is very forced. There are characters thrown in just for the sake of some how tying in another song. The only positives this movie has is the music, but I can get that on my Ipod with out all the needless crap. The other positive is there is some very good cinematography but the vast majority of it was in the trailer. The think that irritated me most was the worthless cameos by Bono and Eddie Izzard. They were un-needed and a waste of their talent. Go out and buy a Beatles album and avoid this movie.

Rating of
1/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

I can't imagine being in the theatre, thinking you were going to see a love story to the soundtrack of the Beatles, and instead seeing Mr. Kite, 6 painted Vietnamese women and a gyrating priest. Our emotional connection to these characters (who are all searching for peace in empty arms) has to be conjured just because we're told they're important.

Rating of
4/4

Cake - wrote on 02/08/2011

I hate musicals. I tried watching it, but I couldn't stand the singing.

Rating of
2.5/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 10/23/2010

Eh, this movie's alright. The only things it has going for it are the music, the acting, and visuals. However, the story doesn't serve those aspects justice. This one's a messy plate. Just watch it for the songs.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/13/2010

Let's be clear. The film's plot, characters, and visuals are contrived to fit the discography of the Beatles. But, for me, an avid Beatles fan, it works. If you love the Beatles' music, you will enjoy seeing what song will be boldly played across the screen next. As a film, perhaps a bit forced, but as an ode to the music of the Beatles - perfect.

Rating of
1.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/10/2010

A great soundtrack doesn't make the movie itself great, or even good in this case. The songs were well performed and worked with the visuals, but there are so MANY crammed into this movie that there is no room to care about what's going on. The 'story', in this film, is one that's been done to death and has nothing to offer. It doesn't work as a musical and plays like a long Beatles music video. I could get the same (better) experience by re-listening to all of my Beatles albums. As much as I didn't care for Mama Mia, it was still a well done average musical that actually incorporated ABBA's greatest hits into the story to make the film it's own and stand apart from the band. However, the opposite can be said for this film.

Rating of
3.5/4

Tiffany's Movies - wrote on 05/27/2010

A must-have for any Beatles fan and/or new age hippie! Loved it. Great soundtrack and pretty decent acting.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?