Where the Wild Things Are Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/21/2019

Based on, or more accurately, "inspired by" the children's picture book of the same name, Spike Jonze's interpretation of "Where the Wild Things Are" is a lot like its titular characters - greatly intimidating, but also very warm and emotional deep down.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/07/2014

Based on the popular book by Maurice Sendak, when Max is sent to bed without supper, he creates his own world populated by wild beasts who crown Max their new king. This movie is not a same to be strange and that is what I should see in movies for now on.

Rating of
3.5/4

Camper - wrote on 07/02/2013

This movie didn't make a lot of sense the majority of the time, but it didn't have to- it's not our world, it's Max's world. A very strange, very good movie.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 04/13/2013

Never have I seen a film that captures the essence of childhood so earnestly. It completely encompasses the imagination, thoughts, emotions, fears, and wonder that we all go through in our early years. This isn't a straight-forward narrative, but rather an intellectual and visual experience that is told through the raw outburst of feelings from our main character. The experience isn't unlike being transported into the world of a storybook, which I assume was the intent.

Rating of
2/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/14/2012

I don't know what this movie was trying to do, but it didn't do it. They were all over the board on this one.

Rating of
1/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/02/2011

I expected a movie for little kids but this movie is NOT for little kids

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/28/2011

A really poignant and sadder film than you might expect, given the source material. It's an adult look at growing up, viewed through a child's eyes (if that makes sense.) There are simple, but compelling conversations about friendship, anger, and love that resonate deeply. Also, the film's creature effects are superb and so is the soundtrack by the incomparable Karen O. If you're expecting a fun children's film, you'll probably be depressed, but if you let some of the thematic material sink in, this is a nuanced and wonderful film.

Rating of
4/4

Jenna - wrote on 06/28/2011

This movie is so touching and somewhat heartbreaking as Spike Jonze vividly recalls the loneliness and frustration of childhood. It's a magnificent imaginative adventure that is very touching; and the music is beautiful, particularly the tracks by Karen O. and the Kids, but the score itself is just as complex and beautiful as the film itself. People of all ages could relate.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 05/31/2010

The best part of the whole movie is the re-re-cracker conversation. lol. I loved it. And, from what I can remember, it was an excellent children's book as well.

Rating of
1.5/4

Freddie - wrote on 04/18/2010

This movie was weird, dark, and almost pointless. I couldn't get through the entire thing. I kept falling asleep and just got to a point where I had to take it out of the DVD player. This movie was just very strange.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?