A Streetcar Named Desire Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/06/2019

No cinematic masterpiece is as abusive as "A Streetcar Named Desire." Dark and energetic, it will always be a timeless and solid work of drama.

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/22/2018

Top-notch, superlative American classic released at the exact right time. Kazan's melody dedicated to aristocratic tendencies and male despotism is a really solid diamond worth holding the rest of our decades. 97/100

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 02/07/2014

Marlon Brando takes on the iconic roll of Stanley and he's brilliant. But this film is really a showcase for Vivien Leigh and she is also great. But, I found her character hard to tolerate. Much like Scarlet in Gone with the Wind (1939) another her her famous roles, she's basically a manipulative bitch. I know that's the point, but I still don't have to like it. If you can get through the first half of the film, it's great. But it gets downgraded for starting slow.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/05/2013

Decent drama containing overly dramatic characters. There's some good dialogue dispersed throughout and the performances are what you'd expect. I particularly liked Brando in this, but didn't care much for any of the characters.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/02/2011

The thing that elevates this film over extreme melodrama is the burning and tortured performances. This is more than acting - this is becoming the characters. Marlon Brando's best work, besides On the Waterfront.

Rating of
2.5/4

pixienerd487 - wrote on 07/17/2009

Marlon Brando is smoldering and mesmerizing in this, one of the most visceral performances ever captured on screen! However, he sets the bar so high and the rest of the film just doesn't seem to measure up.

Rating of
2/4

sapien - wrote on 01/21/2009

It just isn't as good as everyone says it is.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 12/05/2008

A Streetcar Named Desire is a film that really needs to be viewed multiple times to truly appreciate its depth of emotion. Each of the four main characters are deeply complex individuals, that are simply fascinating to watch as they interact with one another. Each of the actor bring such depths to their roles and make this one film that is simply incredible to watch.

Rating of
1.5/4

Alex - wrote on 02/05/2007

Uhh, I don't think this is a very good movie. If I saw this as a high school play, yes, it might be a great play. As a movie it fails. Over acting, few change of sets, and a lot of dialog bring this down. I love Brando, but I could not get in to this one. Only for hard core drama fans.

Rating of
1.5/4

Alex - wrote on 02/04/2007

Uhh, I don't think this is a very good movie. If I saw this as a high school play, yes, it might be a great play. As a movie it fails. Over acting, few change of sets, and a lot of dialog bring this down. I love Brando, but I could not get in to this one. Only for hard core drama fans.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?