Saving Private Ryan Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/22/2018

For Hollywood standards, Saving Private Ryan pushed the envelope concerning the creation of realistic environments of war violence, setting new invigorating standards and making unprepared popcorn eaters throw up back in 1998. I have always despised American patriotism and over-the-top melodramas with all of my guts, but a stellar leading role, a top-notch direction and excellence in technical effects make up for the film's principal flaws, including Spielberg's overabundant optimism that always made American audiences feel proud of their war achievements in the field, like if they were the saviors of the world. Oh, and no matter how much you dislike it, this film is still influential. 85/100

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 06/08/2014

This is hands down the Best war movie ever made, I mean the beach scene was so shocking and so gory and it shows what war really is. Tom hanks is fantastic in the movie and the directing is brilliant.

Rating of
4/4

Quan - wrote on 01/13/2014

A Must See classic ... Best War movie ever ... A masterpiece from one of the best directors of all time, Steven Spielberg !!

Rating of
4/4

Lauren - wrote on 06/29/2013

Outstanding. Heart-wrenching and a definite tear jerker. Spielberg depicts the real horrors of war and every actor played his role very well. Made me appreciate our troops more.

Rating of
4/4

Ryan Stephen M - wrote on 04/13/2013

The war genre is not always one of my favorites but this movie is a huge exception to that. A great movie.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/04/2013

This is one of the most complete, triumphant, brutal, and reflective war films ever made and it's done on the grand scale that only Spielberg could attempt. The film's ensemble cast disappears into their roles and their stories serve as a microcosm for showing the brutality and courage shown during war. The cinematography, score, and production design is all rich, but its Spielberg's sure-handed direction that makes this one of the all-time greats.

Rating of
4/4

Miguel - wrote on 08/14/2012

Amazing cast, amazing director, amazing story, hard theme to talk about = Great movie. This movie shows the truth of war. For those who haven't seen the movie yet, well... What are you waiting for???!!!

Rating of
4/4

ScriptWriter74 - wrote on 11/04/2011

I've seen a lot of 'war' genre movies, and Saving Private Ryan is likely the first film to capture the emotion, feeling, and war experience. The way in which the camera was utilized in some of the actions sequences was genious! From the first few minutes, I felt like I was a seasoned WWII Veteran through the ending credits. I watch this movie at least once a year. Incredible! If you like this one, ensure you check out The Band of Brothers mini-series... fantastic (except for David Schwimer).

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/23/2011

Best WW2 movie ever made

Rating of
3/4

Logan - wrote on 03/07/2011

Watching this movie dashed all my boyhood dreams of becoming am "armyman" but at the same time gave me an incredible portrayal of what heroism really is. A gripping; moving film, worth at least one watch.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?