The Lost Weekend Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/27/2019

Billy Wilder's "The Lost Weekend" touches on the theme of alcoholism which still resonates today even if nuance is almost completely absent.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ryan Stephen M - wrote on 04/13/2013

The Lost Weekend is one of the darker Wilder movies that I have seen. The movie focuses on an alcoholic as his life is followed over a weekend. Dark or not, still a very good movie.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/16/2012

The film is at its best when it portrays the devastation and desperation of alcoholism through quieter and more intense scenes. Occasionally, the more dramatic scenes feel a little forced and over-the-top, but Billy Wilder's skill with wordplay and characterization make the film a relevant human portrayal of addiction that holds up today.

Rating of
4/4

Essi Suomela - wrote on 06/02/2009

Beautifully written and melancholy story about alcoholism. This movie definitely deserves a place on the Top 250 list on imdb.com.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 03/11/2009

A strong film that takes time to see the strengths of it, but pay attention and this film experience is an incredibly interesting one. It has a superb central performance by Ray Milland who brings all the right tention and intensity into the role as a troubled alcoholic. It is a powerful film about both alcoholism but also writer's block which Wilder right terrifically. Not quite a perfect film, but certainly a very powerful one.

Rating of
1/4

Allison - wrote on 12/22/2007

It's amazing that this got the Best Picture of the Year. Even though I adore Billy Wilder and have seen every film of his (except two or three), this was a major disappointment. It was boring. Even though Ray Milland was a decent actor, I can see why he never became a major star. I would avoid unless you are interested in alcoholism in film or if you must work on your Billy Wilder filmography or if you must see every Best Picture. But there are several other Best Pictures I'd see first.

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 07/30/2007

A very underrated movie. The concept and idea are fantastic. Memorable acting. Very strong considering we talk about the 40s. I fact, I'd say is the Requiem for a dream of the forties and... a bit of Trainspotting too. A must see.

Rating of
1.5/4

Alex - wrote on 01/31/2007

Being a huge fan of Billy Wilder, I was really looking forward to this one. I was let down as the pacing was slow, the character development was slow and the overall story was not as shocking as everyone said. I admit I was tired and will probably watch it again (for Wilder?s sake). I tried to enjoy it, but I think its time of greatness has passed...

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?