The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/22/2019

Wes Anderson's most underrated film, you might have mixed feelings about right after watching it, but it will gradually grow on you.

Rating of
2.5/4

Rod - wrote on 07/31/2015

Entertaining enough for some laughs but not so much entertaining for those who don't follow Wes Anderson's films.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/10/2012

Another Anderson picture that I couldn't fully get behind. Even Bill Murray's usual dry persona didn't serve as much humor here. However, I still enjoyed certain moments and the David Bowie soundtrack was pleasant.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 05/23/2012

With the familiar absurdist eye for awkward comedy, Wes Anderson paints a colorful and exciting journey of an oceanographer and his team as they search for a mythical creature. The film manages to inject some human emotion in amongst the funnier and sillier moments. I love Anderson's skill at finding the moving amid the strange and, especially with this film, I also love his color pallette and choice of shot framing. One of the director's best.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

I expected this movie to be funny but I was bored

Rating of
2.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

I'm concerned about myself. I am starting to get very sleepy halfways through movies. This one starts off slow and subtle and would be easy to write off, but the rescue scene alone makes this movie worthwhile. And really, how many filmmakers are shooting movies about marine biologists? Kudos for trying something different.

Rating of
1/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/19/2010

My least favorite Wes Anderson film to date. A truly pretentious work.

Rating of
3/4

Allison - wrote on 10/07/2007

I loved this movie. The story, the actors, the attn. to detail? All good. And very enjoyable. I knew the first time that I'd want to see this a second time. I can't wait to watch it again. Owen Wilson is very good in the lead.

Rating of
2/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/03/2007

WS flicks are pretentious to my taste. I don't know. It seems they always lack of something. This one is a great technical achievement, has a nice easygoing story, but ultimately pointless and stupid.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/21/2007

May not have quite the same oomph as Wes Anderson's earlier work, but Life Aquatic keeps his unique nature alive and makes for an unforgettable film with Anderson's quircky cast of characters and a strange set of adventures.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?