The Island Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/02/2011

Decent effort by Michael Bay. It's one of his better films in recent time. The story is good, but becomes less interesting as the action piles on.

Rating of
3/4

lpd381 - wrote on 12/31/2010

I hate to admit that I actually have a Michael Bay guilty pleasure but I do. This movies running time is a little long but this is only because the movie actually takes the time to develop the story and characters. Wait what! character development what's that? It's actually refreshing to see a movie that took the time to make you care about the characters. The acting was also very strong. You do have to love Scarlett Johansson and Ewan McGregor was incredible and you never go wrong with Steve Buscemi in anything. The only complaint was that during the action scenes the camera work was kinda crazy. Over all a great flick and well worth the watch.

Rating of
3/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 10/29/2008

Entertaining science-fiction action flick goes in some surprising directions, but the second half feels just like every other Michael Bay action movie. The film doesn't offer any suggestions for its ill-conceived ending, but Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johansson make an attractive action duo. Final Grade: B-

Rating of
3/4

Topher - wrote on 02/01/2008

"We control them with the memory of a shared event: global catastrophe . . . their only hope is the Island." Like other Edge-of-Construct films (Matrix, Truman Show, Dark City), the Island is concerned with the mechanics of social control. Part 'Brave New World', part 'Blade Runner.'

Rating of
3/4

GGauthier - wrote on 10/04/2007

The first dream scene seems to be taken from another world, considering we're talking about a Bay flick. The movie came kind of late to me. I've seen the subject done in other places, different formats... The action is cool, and Scaralett Johansson is indeed one of the hottest woman alive.

Rating of
2.5/4

ScottyWasANitemare - wrote on 10/03/2007

I saw this film when I was young, but it was called Logan's Run. Michael Bay sucks donkey balls. This film is actually not that bad. I enjoyed watching it and managed to not get as annoyed with it as other Bay-over-the-top-all-effects-not-subtance crap. The hover-bike whatever they were chase was kinda cool. Not terrible, to my suprise. Seriously, Logan's freakin' Run ScottyWasANitemare

Rating of
3/4

Josh C - wrote on 07/01/2007

Mixed feeling on this movie. I really liked the concept, directing and many of the action sequences. I didn't care for the acting and dialog but that was mostly done on purpose. It wasn't until later in this movie, when that purpose was revealed, that I was able to put the acting and dialog aside and really enjoy what was taking place. Good, thought-provoking sci-fi movie with a Hollywood action movie feel.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 06/29/2007

A great concept that should have been much more. The story is actually pretty interesting, but with Michael Bay you're going to have more explosion than exposition. Good in small doses, but not a favorite of mine.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?