Elephant Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/26/2019

Gus Van Sant's raw teen drama inspired by the events of Columbine can be justifiably defined as 'all too real' and is that kind of movie that can characterized as good, but too upsetting to want to watch twice.

Rating of
N/A

Ranker - wrote on 03/25/2013

A list of the best Elephant Movies. This is a list of the top films featuring elephants. We believe we've got them all, but if you feel we've missed one, please feel free to add it to the list yourself. Children and adults alike love elephants, be it their enormous size coupled with their gentle demeanor, or simply their unique appearance with their trunks and enormous tusks. This list features all species of elephants, including a wooly mammoth or two. for more elephant movies see http://www.ranker.com/list/the-best-elephant-movies/all-genre-movies-lists

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 05/19/2012

Elephant is an important film, though not one that can be watched many times. It's a chilling and matter-of-fact portrayal of various perspectives on the Columbine tragedy with few frills or thematic showboating. By taking a simple approach, the film is a scary and sad look at what is still a remembered national tragedy.

Rating of
1/4

Stina - wrote on 01/17/2012

I think I'm one of the only people who didn't like this movie. I love the concept of this movie, but I didn't like the way the movie was shot and it didn't really have a storyline. It just showed the same thing over and over, just in different angles.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/30/2010

Gus Van Sant delivers a powerful film. Shocking, touching, and beautiful, "Elephant" details what could have possibly been the experiences of students at Columbine High School the day of the fateful shooting. There are several characters with interwoven stories, unconnected except for the fact that they all, in the end, will die at the hands of their classmates. I showed this movie to my film class, asking questions along the lines of: How did this affect you? There was not a soul in the entirety of the class that was not moved in some way. Some people were angry. Others were sad. Others were disillusioned. Brings to mind the reality of the situations. We all know the problem, who will speak against it?

Rating of
2.5/4

taylors - wrote on 05/26/2008

A great concept for a movie and incredibly well shot. The build of this movie is absolutely fantastic. The director and the writer worked well building up each of these individual stereotyped characters so that you genuinely care about each of them. The characters also allow for this film to have a bigger punch as any american viewer can watch it and know that it is very similar to their high school experience. The reason I am disappointed by this film is it doesn't seem to end but instead seems more like it fizzled out at the end. A great film worth seeing once, just expect not the greatest ending.

Rating of
2.5/4

fake_username - wrote on 02/25/2008

Great directing is the high point of this film. It's a little cliche and drawn out and bland. It could have been much more given the subject matter although it was a good film that I wouldn't mid giving a second chance to.

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/03/2007

Tough movie with a very respectful made for screen script, about a sad event. Van Sant picked mostly kids that are not actors, and he added to the refreshing performances, his style to achieve an unique film. Technically speaking is simple, but achieve its purpose, where the director uses the backs and forwards to tell they story. The title itself it's fantastic.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 05/13/2007

A good look at what could have happened in Columbine High School. It really hits home at times and I thank God that it was not me or my school on that day. While it was a little weak in the character development its purpose is to show.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?