127 Hours Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

Based on the true survival story, "127 Hours" is a gripping cinematic endurance test.

Rating of
3/4

Camper - wrote on 10/28/2015

For a move with basically one setting, I was surprisingly captivated. James Franco was great at portraying this guy trapped, going through all the stages of grief. I like to show the clip of him sawing off his arm to new people I meet because their reactions are priceless.

Rating of
3.5/4

lapcat01 - wrote on 03/27/2013

A technically impressive piece of work with an undeniably powerful finale.

Rating of
4/4

Jenna - wrote on 08/11/2011

It's shocking to believe this is a true story, but who better to portray this shocking story than Danny Boyle and James Franco. This is by far the most defining role James Franco has ever played. I cannot get enough of this movie, it's more like watching a thrilling documentary instead of a film. The entire thing is beautiful, moving, and, for some, too realistic to bear. One of the best films I've seen. Bravo.

Rating of
3.5/4

Freddie - wrote on 08/05/2011

Movies like this can be really good or really bad. This was obviously really good. It takes a tremendous amount of talent on behalf of the actor and director to make an entertaining film about one man literally stuck in one place. James Franco is consistent in all of his films so it's no surprise that he nailed this piece. The flashbacks that appeared throughout definitely kept things interesting, taking us away with the character and his thoughts as he believed to be in his last moments of life. This is definitely something I would recommend.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/17/2011

James Franco deserved his nomination for this film. It's gripping, it's moving and, best of all, it's intense. Danny Boyle has crafted another excellent film and the fact it's based on a real story makes it all the better. One of the better films from 2010.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/22/2011

Danny Boyle delivers again. Just an all-around great movie. It's a must see of 2010.

Rating of
3.5/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 02/21/2011

A good movie, another solid effort from Danny Boyle, and a career-making performance by James Franco. Boyle and Franco do a good job of recreating the moment and creating a claustrophobic environment that literally makes you feel like you are in the cave with Aron. His attempts to free himself are a little plodding, simply because you know he's not going to be successful. Luckily, Boyle doesn't spend as much time on this and instead focuses more on Aron's thoughts and attempts to survive. A very rewarding ending, especially after what you've been through, caps off a pretty solid effort.

Rating of
3/4

Bri - wrote on 02/08/2011

Boyle's directing style sometimes seems out of place, but this film is overall interesting, funny, suspenseful, and gripping. Franco turns in a quality performance that honestly does rival his competition for the Oscar, in my opinion.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 02/07/2011

A truly inspiring film marking another fantastic achievement for director Danny Boyle and another achievement for actor James Franco (the only other great film I can say he was a part of was "Milk"). Danny Boyle created a dizzying perception of loneliness in the most terrifying place: the middle of no where where no one knows you are in a situation you have absolutely no control over. A superb landmark film in terms of experimentation - films like this don't seem to get widespread recognition and yet here it comes, with two brilliant names attached (and more!) A. R. Rahman's score is beautifully accurate and the writing is the most interesting of scripts of the year (or at least one of them). A superb film and one of the best of 2010!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?