Super 8 Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 03/01/2014

The story is about a group of six children filming a home movie with a Super 8 camera witness a horrific train crash on a remote railway crossing. Yet the crash is only the beginning of the ordeal, as the train bound from Area 51 carries an inhuman cargo that has now been set free. This movie has great CGI and really good kid actors.

Rating of
3.5/4

Camper - wrote on 10/28/2013

I didn't know a thing about this movie before I watched it, and that's probably one of the reasons I was so impressed by it. Regardless, this is a very good film, with a great score and even (wait for it) kids who can actually act. Top twenty favorite films.

Rating of
4/4

chrisdye newguy - wrote on 03/09/2012

this movie was not exactly what i expected it to be and that is great because i expected to hate it but when i got out of the theater i felt that i had realy spent my money wisley because i had a realy great time and was glad i went to see it the story was about this group of five friends who decide they want to make a monster movie but all goes wrong when they realise that they may be geting more than they bargan for when an actual monster comes on the seen and trys to destroy the town well like i said i loved the movie and ella fanning is just too beautiful for human words my only gripe too mutch swearing for my taste but other than that i loved it

Rating of
1.5/4

Ean Vali - wrote on 01/13/2012

This movie was supossed to be a movie Stephen Spielberg could make. Well sorry boys, think again. If I was Spielberg I would have pulled my head off (glad I'm not him!). The movie is slow, unrealistic (its Ci-Fi...) I mean the things that happen raise a lot of questions of how do those stupid kids survive all that mess. Its a sorry combination of E.T., The Goonies and a couple of other movies and to be honest this one does then all wrong!

Rating of
3.5/4

Alex - wrote on 12/30/2011

A very solid sci fi drama. Some compare it to Goonies or Stand By Me (don't believe the hype, it isn't that good). It had some magical elements in it and the Kid actors are outstanding. I would consider this movie more like Explorers with Ethan Hawke and River Phoenix. Glad to see some magic made it back into the theaters.

Rating of
3.5/4

RITT - wrote on 12/22/2011

Super 8, that`s what we used to call really good reel films back in the 70`s. The story starts out with a group of kids making a zombie movie and listening to classic 70`s hits. When an Air Force train derails while transporting an alien bad things start happening in a small town. As the plot thickens, people, engines,and electrical equipment come up missing. The local sheriff tries to get at the bottom of the problem but is continually stiff armed by the Air Force general in charge. It`s up to the junior high kids to figure out what the alien wants and persuade it to leave. This movie has a few startling scenes as well as some kiddie romance. It puts you to mind of a super duper E.T. Overall a good flick.

Rating of
3/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 12/06/2011

I never pay attention to who directs the movies I watch but while watching Super 8 I had to take a look at the back of the DVD case to see who made the movie because it felt like I was watching a Steven Spielberg film.It was like an updated version of Stand By Me but with an alien.I liked Super 8 right from the start.It's a fun movie & the musical soundtrack was nice as well

Rating of
3/4

Joshu - wrote on 09/05/2011

super eight was really cool from the beggining. However as the end neared the movie took a whole other turn that was barely even expected. It also left me wondering how an ugly has more brains than humans. Anyway the movie was just awesome and had enough humour and drama together wiyh action played out. The kid characters also did avery good job on their roles.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 06/19/2011

A coming of age film for 2011. It's a fine mix of ET and Stand by Me. The acting is top notch and its a perfect getaway from the usual summer movie crap like sequels, reboots, and crappy Michael Bay films. Go see it.

Rating of
3/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 06/14/2011

An entertaining, if slightly over-hyped, summer film featuring a strong cast of teenagers as they battle a mysterious force unleashed in their small town. There are plenty of jumps, laughs, and visuals to keep you entertained for the duration of the film. Unfortunately, the ending just didn't do it for me, as the film took a different tone that was absent for much of the film. I'm trying to keep that as vague as possible so not to spoil anything, but let's just say I was feeling the heart-warming finale Abrams was going for. Stick through the credits, as you get to see the film the youngsters are making throughout. It's the best part of the experience.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?