August Rush Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
1.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/11/2014

The film is about a young boy seeks out his long-lost folks and discovers prodigious musical talent in this family-oriented drama from Disco Pigs director Kirsten Sheridan. In the aftermath of a passionate night together above New York's Washington Square, a charismatic Irish guitarist named Louis (Jonathan Rhys-Meyers) and a reserved cellist named Lyla (Keri Russell) are forced apart by fate. This movie has stupid characters and bland acting.

Rating of
1.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/04/2011

I found the story and characters stupid. Robin Williams was an adequate scheming villain type, but that's about all I liked in this movie.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/29/2011

Started off good & then just went downhill

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

This is my official entry in the "Suspend Disbelief and You'll Love It" category. There is magic here in this modern day fairy tale if you will just let go. Moving, beautiful, even inspiring. Unfortunately, Robin Williams is in it. Attention casting directors: cease casting this man in anything.

Rating of
3/4

filmbuff30 - wrote on 07/29/2009

not a kids movie, but not a grown-up movie either! Teen movie? Far from it! Still, well acted, beautiful music. B++

Rating of
3.5/4

Masood - wrote on 06/17/2009

I suggest you watch it, I loved it and it is a beautiful movie with excellent acting and music. Everyone and everything in the movie is lovely..

Rating of
3.5/4

Masood - wrote on 06/17/2009

I suggest you watch it, I loved it and it is a beautiful movie with excellent acting and music. Everyone and everything in the movie is lovely..

Rating of
3/4

Alexa - wrote on 03/12/2009

Really good movie. Some might say that it was rushed. In my opionion, they really let the story build. A lot of coincidences but still hope. Throughout the whole movie, I thought the music was incredible. I still don't understand why Louise waited so long to look her up or why didn't Lyla look him up. They fell in love and slept together without even knowing each others last names? I really enjoyed this film.

Rating of
2.5/4

SarahG0327 - wrote on 12/19/2007

This film was very heart warming. The music was amazing and really added to the intensity. The acting was superb, and I must say that Robin Williams is surprisingly good at the creepy kid seller act. There were, however, a few problems this movie had. First, the beginig could have been cut in half. It got very repedative and a little annoying hearing the kid talk about his parents over and over. We get it! Secondly, there were a few areas of the plot that were a little weak and could have been explained more. The relationship between Keri and Jonathan's characters wasn't explored much, especially when they were reunited. All in all, I had high hopes for this film that it didn't reach. Yet, I still left happy and really enjoyed it.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?