Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/21/2014

My least favorite harry potter film.

Rating of
2.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Slow-moving, but this character driven entry delivers just as much as any great thriller would. Great performances by Radcliffe and Watson.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 07/30/2011

A good, but not great entry in the Potter franchise. It stays quite true to the source material, shortening some scenes here and there, but for the most part, it didn't skip or change much at all. You must see the sequel, or most of this film just seems out of place because it's a total set-up for the final film. If you're a Potter fan, you've probably already seen this, but even if you're not, see it anyway.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 02/01/2011

Certainly the best of the films so far, "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" is a magical exploration into the dark-descending world of wizards and Muggles. For Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint, this film marks an apex of emotional sincerity and commitment that has hitherto been unrecognized. All three portray a vast expanse of qualities keen to rising stars, and rising stars with talent at that. This film is assuredly much darker than its predecessors, although done so with grace and integrity, not shock and piousness. A great thrill. A great installment, finishing up the series with gusto and grit, "HP7:1" is a sure-fire phantasmagoria of wizarding excitement.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/09/2011

Definitely the strongest of the Potter series and this is because of the character relationships built from the first film onward. Brilliant special effects, harrowing and dark action sequences, and an extremely emotional ending. It is episodic plotwise, but that's forgivable because by now we've grown to love these characters.

Rating of
4/4

Bri - wrote on 11/28/2010

I have to admit that I didn't expect to like this film because I wasn't crazy about the source material (IMO, DH was a terrible ending), but they managed to split the material up in a way that makes the film pretty suspenseful and exciting. Kudos also to the actors for doing their best job yet and making the characters truly familiar and likable. You laugh, you cry, you cower....can't ask for much more.

Rating of
3.5/4

Spielbergian - wrote on 11/23/2010

A great improvement for the Harry Potter films. Harry finally seems like he's grown up, along with the other characters the plot is darker and every part of the movie is an exciting adventure. Granted, the only thing that stopped this movie from getting a full 4 stars is the comedic relief. Overused and put in unnecessary places that destroy the tension. And originally the dialog is too quickly delivered. But, after you get past the small problems that can be barely noticed this movie is the best of the Harry potter series and filled with great moments.

Rating of
3.5/4

Patrik - wrote on 11/22/2010

Very good film, one of the best in the series. Period.

Rating of
4/4

ShhhhItsMovieTime - wrote on 11/21/2010

Absolutely amazing!!!! Best ever....must see now, i'm going again.

Rating of
4/4

ShhhhItsMovieTime - wrote on 11/21/2010

Absolutely amazing!!!! Best ever....must see now, i'm going again.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?