Tropic Thunder Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/11/2014

"You want some! get some".

Rating of
2/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/16/2012

Black and Stiller can kill anything for me. This is not an exception. It is worth the watch just for Downey and Cruise's characters. But other than that; I found this to be a dud of what it could have become. I felt like I was watching an average SNL sketch for 2 hours. It wasn't terrible or anything, just extremely disappointing. If one were to go into this with no expectations, I could see it coming off as better.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/01/2012

The premise itself is worth the watch and the execution is fantastic. The movie walks a smart line between being an all-out satire and a fully-functional, very funny comedy in its own right. The characters are all derivative of popular Hollywood stereotypes, but they are brought to life in a unique way by the talented cast. Robert Downey Jr., especially, continues his rebirth in Hollywood with a chameleon-like role that completely flies in the face of his more serious roles. By the insane finale, you'll be laughing nonstop.

Rating of
2/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 10/03/2011

This movie was funny but not as funny as I thought it was gonna be & was another movie where I didnt find Jack Black annoying.He actually was funny & Robert Downey Jr. was hilarious!!!

Rating of
1.5/4

theCriticalMarisa - wrote on 08/26/2011

Typical low-brow humor. Filled with raunchy innuendo that people 15 and under will find hilarious I'm sure. There are a couple good lines sprinkled throughout, but I really couldn't wait for this movie to be over. I thought the opening sequence was really good, and was so disappointed by the rest of it. "SImple Jack" and Jay Baruchel's performance were highlights. Matthew McConaughey was pretty good. Tom Cruise was atrocious, but that's nothing new. With the cast they had, this is what they came up with?

Rating of
3.5/4

Patrik - wrote on 06/04/2011

Hilarious!!

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/02/2011

Ben Stiller does a great job writing, directing and acting in this satirical spoofy farce about Hollywood stereotypes and war movies. There are some big laughs and memorable moments from everyone in the stellar cast. It's a fun and hilarious good time.

Rating of
1/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

There was just so much seriously vulgar humor that afterwards, I found myself saying, "I know there were some really funny lines in there, but I can't remember any of them now." Tom Cruise: not funny.

Rating of
3/4

Sgt. Jazoof - wrote on 02/07/2011

Funny satirical spoof of war movies and primarily the movie industry- very entertaining, Stiller and Downey hilarious, exciting action

Rating of
4/4

lpd381 - wrote on 01/06/2011

I absolutely loved this movie. This is how a comedy should be done. It takes a plot and lets the comedy flow from the plot, it doesn't throw random topical references out. Robert Downey Jr. is amazing, Jack Black and Ben Stiller were fantastic. However the best performance comes from Tom Cruse, thats right I said Tom Cruse. I wont say who he plays because part of the glory of his role is actually figuring out and comming to terms with the fact that it is Tom Cruse. This is one of the best comedy's in a very long time. If you get the chance watch this movie

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?