Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Tropic Thunder (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Tropic Thunder (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Tropic Thunder (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 31 

Matthew Brady 08/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

"You want some! get some".

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Black and Stiller can kill anything for me. This is not an exception. It is worth the watch just for Downey and Cruise's characters. But other than that; I found this to be a dud of what it could have become. I felt like I was watching an average SNL sketch for 2 hours. It wasn't terrible or anything, just extremely disappointing. If one were to go into this with no expectations, I could see it coming off as better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The premise itself is worth the watch and the execution is fantastic. The movie walks a smart line between being an all-out satire and a fully-functional, very funny comedy in its own right. The characters are all derivative of popular Hollywood stereotypes, but they are brought to life in a unique way by the talented cast. Robert Downey Jr., especially, continues his rebirth in Hollywood with a chameleon-like role that completely flies in the face of his more serious roles. By the insane finale, you'll be laughing nonstop.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 10/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

This movie was funny but not as funny as I thought it was gonna be & was another movie where I didnt find Jack Black annoying.He actually was funny & Robert Downey Jr. was hilarious!!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

theCriticalMarisa 08/26/2011 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Typical low-brow humor. Filled with raunchy innuendo that people 15 and under will find hilarious I'm sure. There are a couple good lines sprinkled throughout, but I really couldn't wait for this movie to be over. I thought the opening sequence was really good, and was so disappointed by the rest of it. "SImple Jack" and Jay Baruchel's performance were highlights. Matthew McConaughey was pretty good. Tom Cruise was atrocious, but that's nothing new. With the cast they had, this is what they came up with?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Patrik 06/04/2011 (0 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Hilarious!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Ben Stiller does a great job writing, directing and acting in this satirical spoofy farce about Hollywood stereotypes and war movies. There are some big laughs and memorable moments from everyone in the stellar cast. It's a fun and hilarious good time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (2 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

There was just so much seriously vulgar humor that afterwards, I found myself saying, "I know there were some really funny lines in there, but I can't remember any of them now." Tom Cruise: not funny.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Sgt. Jazoof 02/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Funny satirical spoof of war movies and primarily the movie industry- very entertaining, Stiller and Downey hilarious, exciting action

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

lpd381 01/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I absolutely loved this movie. This is how a comedy should be done. It takes a plot and lets the comedy flow from the plot, it doesn't throw random topical references out. Robert Downey Jr. is amazing, Jack Black and Ben Stiller were fantastic. However the best performance comes from Tom Cruse, thats right I said Tom Cruse. I wont say who he plays because part of the glory of his role is actually figuring out and comming to terms with the fact that it is Tom Cruse. This is one of the best comedy's in a very long time. If you get the chance watch this movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  4  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best films of 1976 by Daniel
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Movies To Watch by Cinemaniac
Movies of 2016 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2010 by skater4159
Top Movie List by Jaime
Movies I Want To See by Austin Shagwell
Watched in 2018 by tonks76

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy