Shaun of the Dead Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

Featuring some of the most brilliant and laugh-out-loud funny satire ever put in a horror-comedy, "Shaun of the Dead" is simultaneously in a league with both Monty Python and the social critique zombie films of George A. Romero.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 06/08/2014

"You've got red on you". The jokes in the movie was funny and clever and the writing is well made and the movie is a blast to watch.

Rating of
4/4

MikePA - wrote on 07/23/2013

Shaun of the Dead is an amazing mix of horror and comedy; a movie so clever and hysterical you can't help but give in and enjoy it for exactly what it's trying to be. It's an expertly directed and acted film, with a rousing climax both exciting and moving. I can't find a single thing wrong with it. This film represents a highlight in the careers of director Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, and everybody else involved.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/24/2013

Shaun of the Dead skillfully satirizes the zombie horror genre, but in more of a socially conscious, tongue-in-cheek way, rather than an outright lampooning. Mel Brooks this is not. The film also features a believable and charming comedic relationship between the two leads, as well as some frightfully good zombie killing and action. It's a crazy blending of genres that somehow works.

Rating of
3.5/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/06/2012

This is one of the best Zombie movies, and the best ZomCom ever made. I would hope that future movie will build off of the basic concepts of this movie, but I am sure I will only be disappointed by attempts to recreate a movie like this one. I have not failed to find on Pegg movie that I have not thoroughly enjoyed. He and Frost have amazing chemistry on screen and their friendship shines through and brings this movie to that next level. This movie was very scary with very little horror involved. It almost plays out like a stoner flick with zombies. But it still accomplishes to capture the social themes of zombie movies. This is a must-watch for all men, comedy fans, and zombie movie lovers.

Rating of
4/4

smokiediebear - wrote on 08/30/2012

Ahh the life of a local beer fly and his best friend couch squatter. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost make a awesome team that led you into a adventure of non stop laughs while amusingly defeating a town of the living dead. Great movie to watch over and over..

Rating of
3/4

Polly - wrote on 06/16/2012

A brilliant mix of horror and British comedy, spiced with amazing actors and great editing that creates a wonderful watching experience!

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/15/2011

1 of the best zombie movies out there

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/23/2011

A zombie comedy that mixes the best elements of both genres. The writing and directing make for a fast, visually exciting, and cleverly funny watch. Though, I feel the ending falters a bit, it doesn't slow down on the overall fun that the movie has generated up until that point. A surprise favorite among mainstream audiences, and for good reason.

Rating of
2.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

Has some top-notch editing and comic timing. The hilarious first half was "a slice of fried gold" and on the path to my personal Top 10. But then... I don't want to give away the conclusion, but it lacked tact.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?