Melancholia Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/04/2019

"Melancholia" is a science fiction disaster movie, but instead of focusing on impending doom, focuses on complex characters and an actual plot.

Rating of
0.5/4

Bor - wrote on 12/15/2014

This is absolutely one of THE worst movies I've ever seen. Boring as shit, no plot, no story, nothing. I literally fell sleep (no joke) and woke up and still nothing had happened and I didn't miss a thing. I was actually thinking when does this nightmare of a movie will end. I was looking forward to the credits! Do not waste your time on this BS of a movie. The only reason I chose to see this movie was because I watched Nymphomaniac (also by the same director/writer) and I was curious about this one. Although the Nymphomaniac movie wasn't all that great either. I would give it a zero star, but I cant!

Rating of
2/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 06/11/2012

Uninteresting characters, almost non-existent character development and nudity for no reason from a known artist spells disaster. You have two parts of the film about 2 sisters and a planet hitting the earth. You have artists whispering in dialogues, camera angles that bores you and a single location without any outside intervention despite the crisis that is occurring. This is a waste of time in all aspects, Melancholia is a sad film which shows troubled figures and a huge planet coming your way.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 06/05/2012

As the title suggests, this is not a feel-good film - when your movie begins with the end (literally - the end of the world), you know you're in for something downright depressing. And so it is - I did think the characters were good, even if the movie was somewhat slow. Interesting concept - so-so delivery.

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 04/22/2012

I wanted to like this film, but I had some of the same problems as I did with 'The Tree of Life'. It felt a little boring and self important at times and I never connected emotionally with the film, except that it literally made me depressed. That's not the experience I want out of a film. The slow and depressive state takes away from any theme or message the movie was possibly containing. As for positives, I will say that the film looks visually great and the performances are as good as you would expect. This is one film that will have a very narrow audience and an even smaller amount of appreciators.

Rating of
2/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 04/11/2012

A very very heavy film that takes itself very very seriously. The one thing this film has going for it is a strong performance by Kirsten Dunst. The many things it doesn't have going for it are a plot that moves at a snail's pace, a lot of melancholy (hence the title) that at times becomes tiresome, and a too-long running time. The ending shot is pretty spectacular however.

Rating of
2.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 04/09/2012

Von Trier creatively creates a sense of foreboding and tragedy as he dissects questions of life and death. The problem is - the film's more inventive moments involving the Doomsday star Melancholia are encased in scenes of depressing tedium that tend to bog down the film's themes and impact. The ending still got me, but the film could have been a lot stronger.

Rating of
0.5/4

Black - wrote on 11/24/2011

selfish whore is tragic character, yeah right, i couldn't care less for her

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?