Winter's Bone Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 12/03/2019

Jennifer Lawrence gives a stand out performance as a teenager fighting for answers while armed with nothing more than her will to survive and take care of what family she has left.

Rating of
2/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/05/2014

This film is about a 17-year-old Ozark girl must navigate a difficult world while tracking down her drug-dealing father and keeping her own family together. This movie got Gritty and got a little dark towards there end, But I thought this movie was a bit boring and I didn't remember much about the movie because I watched this movie days ago and I forgot most of it to be honest. The only good thing in this movie was Jennifer Lawrence and that's it.

Rating of
2/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 07/05/2014

This film is about a 17-year-old Ozark girl must navigate a difficult world while tracking down her drug-dealing father and keeping her own family together. This movie got Gritty and got a little dark towards there end, But I thought this movie was a bit boring and I didn't remember much about the movie because I watched this movie days ago and I forgot most of it to be honest. The only good thing in this movie was Jennifer Lawrence and that's it.

Rating of
3/4

gzn - wrote on 12/08/2011

Stronger on place than plot, a place I am glad not to have been born to. Well depicted - full marks to all the actors.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/30/2011

A bleak, depressing film that is well made, but I would not consider it one of the best of the year.

Rating of
3.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 08/07/2011

Whatever awards this movie wins or gets nominated for, It deserves each & every 1 of them.Winters Bone had me from the beginning to the very end.I loved the characters,scenery,story,etc,etc. The only problem I had with this movie is never finding out who the real killer was

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/03/2011

A pretty bleak film, but worth it for Jennifer Lawrence's performance alone. Still, if you can get through a the pretty depressing subject matter and characters, it's a fine film.

Rating of
3/4

woody - wrote on 03/12/2011

Bleak. That's not bad thing. This movie looked authentic, to me, anyway--never spent much time in backwoods meth country. Washed-out browns and greys. Tumbledown mobile homes, yards full of decrepit cars and trucks choked with weeds, burned-down meth labs. Grim-looking, marginalized, struggling characters peeking out of windows and doors. It didn't sound as authentic. In places, the dialogue and the accents sounded like the ersatz hillbilly talk of fifties movies or sixties sitcoms. Just a lot more downbeat. After a slow start, the arc of the story is nice, as our intrepid heroine resolutely continues on her odyssey, getting lots of interference at every turn.

Rating of
2/4

Tasha - wrote on 02/09/2011

ok movie, wouldn't have lost any sleep over it had I not watched it, but I thought I would because of the whole Golden Globe and Academy Awards thing. I have to say, the girl, Jennifer Lawrence's acting was good, it's sad how fast kids have to grow up in certain situations and take care of themselves and others. People treated her like shit all because she was searching for her father, I was just like "oh come on now, give the girl a break"

Rating of
2.5/4

Bri - wrote on 02/04/2011

Nothing to feel good about here! Watch this for Jennifer Lawrence's performance, which is great, but most likely not enough to win her jack this year against Portman and Kidman. The movie itself is grim, brutal, and depressing.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?