The Book of Eli Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/08/2014

n a post-apocalyptic American a man fights to protect The Book of Eli - a tome which may hold the secret to saving humanity. This movie is so grey to look and I am not kidding you the movie looks so dead inside. this movie has it's slow and boring parts.

Rating of
2/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 08/22/2011

The best thing about this movie were the fight scenes

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 02/11/2011

Very strong beginning sets up what could've been a serious 'Road Warrior', but instead it falls to pieces in the middle only to be brought back together by one unforeseen revelation from WAY out in left field. I may have been more generous to my rating, if I had felt the 'twist' ending was just a little believable. It would make M. Night proud.

Rating of
4/4

felixthecat15 - wrote on 11/28/2010

The twist in this movie just blows your mind, of course with Denzel Washington as the lead role, it had great potential. Mila Kunis played a great supporting role, as did Gary Oldman. The story line was just fantastic and its one of Denzels best.

Rating of
2.5/4

Adam Barber - wrote on 10/15/2010

i liked this film, but im a big fan of post apocalyptic movies, was a bit to hollywood though denzel washington did a good role, and their was a great twist in the film at the end which was good the action was great though their was a lot of digital imagery used in some parts like when the main character is using hes great machete dagger thing

Rating of
4/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 09/13/2010

A very strong film with a great performance by Denzel Washington. As post-apocalyptic films go, this film is one that stands out on its own. I was expecting a twist ending and though one occurs, it takes you completely by surprise and still leaves a satisfying feeling. Mila Kunis has come a long way since That 70s Show, in many of her scenes with Washington she holds her own well. Films like this can be very bleak, but at it's heart is a message of hope that we all should have.

Rating of
N/A

mrfinch - wrote on 06/21/2010

This was an awesome movie, kinda bogged down in some parts, but all in all it was well worth the watch. Especially, as others have said, how the ending turns out.

Rating of
3.5/4

Des E. Raye - wrote on 06/17/2010

The message in this movie is what really got me. Walk by faith and not by sight!!

Rating of
3/4

Tasha - wrote on 06/04/2010

This movie was kind of slow, but it kept my attention regardless. What came out in the end I was not expecting.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 01/31/2010

I was surprised at how much I liked this movie. Denzel Washington is great at Eli. Eli is and unlikely short of character, but Denzel really sells it, I always like his less flashy characters. Gary Oldman is also great, but that is to be expected. Mila Kunis was surprisingly believable, though I thought they portrayed her as a bit naive and soft for the world she was in at the beginning. Its a lot like mad max, but quieter. The violence is all shot beautifully. Overall, a very enjoyable if not terribly original movie.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?