Vicky Cristina Barcelona Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/06/2019

I'm usually not a fan of chick-flick love stories, but there's something very enchanting about "Vicky Cristina Barcelona." It's not Woody Allen's best film, but it's definitely one of his most elegant.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ryan Stephen M - wrote on 07/20/2013

I really liked this movie. It's funny, it's romantic, and also serious at some points. It comes together well, another really good movie from Mr. Woody Allen.

Rating of
3.5/4

Rich - wrote on 08/05/2012

I caught this gem four years late - not sure how I missed it. Along with 'Match Point' It's one of Woody Allen's best in the last twenty years. Set against the beautiful backdrop of Spanish villages added some nice flavor to Allen's usual mastering of ambiguity and crafty writing. Fresh off his incredible 'No Country for Old Men' performance, Javier Bardem delivers again. Great chemistry with everyone on the set and Penelope Cruz's performance definitely merited her the awards she received and then some. Well worth renting or even buying.

Rating of
2.5/4

Krista Skene - wrote on 09/26/2011

I had no idea this was Woody Allen when I watched it!

Rating of
2.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/06/2011

Despite interesting performances ( Javier Bardem is always good and Penelope Cruz is captivating in her limited screentime,) the film suffers because nothing really happens. Some people fall in and out of love and switch beds several times. And, at the very end, none of the characters are transformed and I was left with nothing to take away.

Rating of
3.5/4

Bri - wrote on 11/28/2010

Rebecca Hall struggles to hold her own against Scarlett Johansson, who plays a familiar character for her, hot melancholy artistic girl. The highlight of the movie is really Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz's onscreen chemistry. Cruz is especially good at taking a stereotypical character and infusing her with something that takes her beyond the stock.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 08/11/2009

The acting was top notch, but the story was quite lacking. If you're a Woody Allen fan see it, otherwise see Scoop, another and better Allen film.

Rating of
3/4

TommyL31 - wrote on 04/17/2009

This movie was very interesting and I'm glad I didn't miss it before it left town. I found all of the characters amusingly shallow and fun to pull your hair out while watching. I'm not sure that I would want to spend time with any of the characters but the twisting, changing plot and the characters reactions to it was hard to turn away from. A great follow up performance for Javier Bardem to show his versatility. Not the best movie I've seen but a decent, fun watch.

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 02/26/2009

Solid acting, solid premise, and an interesting love story. It doesn't make it good. Most of this film I was thinking it was Allen's best since the 70's. The ending destroyed it for me. Decent romance, but not good at all.

Rating of
2.5/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 02/06/2009

A pleasant enough film that I did not laugh at but I did not hate watching it wither. The only thing that I really disliked about this film is the way the characters always speak in extreme self examination. It just gets annoying with all the characters doing it basically, and I hope no one thinks it is realistic dialogue. Otherwise its a nothing really happens and than it ends which is a type of film I do not like because I can do something more interesting instead of unsatisfying film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?