8 1/2 Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/04/2019

Fellini's surreal and unconventional masterpiece that gets into the heart and mind of a filmmaker.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 11/28/2016

8½ is one of the best movies about film making, within a fantasy that clashes with reality. Short answer = It's a masterpiece

Rating of
4/4

Camper - wrote on 02/13/2016

This movie is so trippy and brilliant. It needs to be watched multiple times to pick up on all the little details. "I'm sorry, but how can you not care if an audience understands?" I don't think we're even supposed to fully understand, but the entire experience of just watching it is enough for me.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 04/14/2014

Trying to make sense of this film is impossible, but I'm going to try anyway. The "A" storyline of the film is about a director who has a sever case of writer's block. I think everyone can understand that, it's the rest of the film that get's confusing. My take of the film, is this, everything else is a daydream. The end, which is the most confusing part of the film, I take it as this: during the press conference Guido does kill himself and he's now in the afterlife directing the film of "his life." This film has everyone that he's ever met in it. Or, I could just be full of shit and this film "means" absolutely nothing.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 09/19/2012

This is widely hailed as a brilliant movie about making a movie - I think that visually it's striking - many scenes stick with you, no matter how bizarre. However, trying to follow this is an effort in futility since it comes across as so random. I liked it well enough, but didn't exactly "get" it. It's certainly a unique, original experience.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 10/23/2011

This is, without a doubt, my all-time favorite film. Taken linearly, it will surely confuse and frustrate. However, taken as parts that form a whole, the visual nuances on full display are fantastic. This is a thinly-veiled autobiography of a director who has made his living create fantastical visual landscapes. It is a layered discovery of the creative process that, while it isn't for everyone, will definitely entertain and inspire those who are more artistically bent.

Rating of
4/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 05/31/2011

There have been a plethora of semi-autobiographical films that have boasted invigorating creativity and vibrancy, but none to the degree that Fellini's weird and wonderful masterwork has. A surrealist comedy about director's block is hardly a mainstream prospect... and that is arguably why the film is so good.

Rating of
4/4

phantom - wrote on 02/08/2010

gorgeous visuals, just don't try to focus on the plot or figure out the plot, you might go mad if you do. I won't lie this movie is weird, but worth the effort

Rating of
3/4

sodapop - wrote on 04/02/2008

My second Fellini experience, which I enjoyed decidedly better than my first.

Rating of
3/4

Allison - wrote on 12/22/2007

Funny, crazy and wild. Why not see it?

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?