King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/20/2012

You don't have to be a fan of vintage gaming to get into this David vs. Goliath story. This is an entertaining and very funny documentary, but, at the same time, also dives deep into some fascinating characters. To create such tension and excitement in such a simple plot is a real skill, and this documentary often plays like a narrative film.

Rating of
4/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 12/07/2011

Being such a big fan of video games, I'm embarrassed how long it finally took me to watch this excellent documentary. The competitive nature, the characters you just couldn't make up in film because reality is so much better - all around, one of my favorite documentaries.

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/21/2011

WOW.I was really impressed by this documentary.You gotta see it.It had me hooked from beginning to end

Rating of
3.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

While hilarious and entertaining, it will also make you seethe with the injustice and corruption it details. You'll vow never, ever to buy Rickey's Hot Sauce. However, I've never felt so manipulated into rooting for the hero and loathing the enemy. Masterful, devious editing. About the Guinness Book of World Records: "Some people sort of ruin their lives to be in there."

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 02/17/2011

"King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters," is by far one of the most hysterical documentaries I've ever seen. Its close to being a mockumentary, just by how absurd this strange subculture of people behave. Billy Mitchell is a douchebag who involves himself in the most insidious of plots, but crowd favorite Steve Wiebe is always right behind with a glorious, humble comeback. This arcane arcade world is steeped in unsung heroes and oversung achievements, basking in the most outrageous of lime-lights: Donkey Kong will never look the same again.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/11/2010

One of the most entertaining documentaries I've ever seen. I like to be informed, but most documentaries these days inform us of real life horrors and tragedies that it's not very fun to watch. This one tells Steve Wiebe's true tale with comedy and sincerity.

Rating of
2.5/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 08/08/2008

This was one of the better documentary's that I have ever seen. I couldn't stop thinking about it for 2 days after I watched it. This documentary shows the 'fight' for world domination in Donkey Kong. I was suprised that it was made in 2007 as it tended to be a little 80's, especially Billy Mitchell's hair style. I really recomend this documentary and after you watch it you will: A.feel like a superstar (even if you feel like you have a little nerd in you, you haven't seen nerd till you've seen this) and B. You'll feel like you want to hurt Billy Mitchell for the big jerk that he is. Check this one out!

Rating of
4/4

FZero - wrote on 01/30/2008

Fantastic documentary about the classic gaming scene. In particular focuses achieving the high score on Donkey Kong, if you've ever played the game you can really appreciate the immense skill it takes to rack up such scores. The characters are what made the movie from the antagonist Billy Mitchell who comes across as an arrogant prick with little to back up his big talk, to Steve Wiebe a regular guy with kids and a family who challenges his record. It was really interesting to see how the classic video game score keeping works and how much time is put into it by so many individuals who do it for free. I know everyone is used to more serious documentaries and may dismiss this as fluff, but do yourself a favor and check this one out.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?