The Wild Bunch Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/22/2018

Peckinpah goes fuckin' demented in what may be the best western of the 60s along with Leone's deliveries. The representation of the national frontier and the stereotypical portrayal of misogynous fierceness by the typical Mexican macho gets my full approval. Despite it was weird (and funny!) to see famous Golden Age Hollywood actors attempting to speak Spanish at their best, if this does not have the best explosive western shootout in cinema history, I don't know where the hell it is. Rodriguez and Tarantino haven't stopped thanking Peckinpah. 97/100

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/25/2013

'The Wild Bunch' is a western generally remembered for it's violence and genre specific agenda. I can't relate much criticism for a film that achieves such a high level of fan service. I mean, seriously, this contains every hallmark turned up to almost eleven. A fun, thrilling, and immensely bloody gunslinger.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 06/21/2013

It probably took me a lot longer than necessary to watch this western. I think The Wild Bunch is a good movie for sure, but might fall just short of great. The main problem is that the characters just aren't fleshed out enough to connect to anyone. The action scenes are amazing, though, and the actors do a good job of balancing comedy and drama. Western fans should not pass it up.

Rating of
2/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 01/07/2012

When The Wild Bunch started with the bank robbery & shoot out scene, The 1st thing I thought is that this is going to be an awesome Western but as the movie went on I found myself losing interest & stopped caring after awhile.I really hoped that as good as the opening was I would add this movie as a favorite.I loved the way it started but I'm so disappointed the way it turned out

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 11/21/2011

Now, I must admit, I haven't seen a lot of westerns, however, I had very high hopes for this one. But, I just couldn't get into it. I had a hard time caring for any of the characters. Now, that's not to say that this is a bad film, but, I don't think it quite earns the praise that is constatnly heaped up on it. Better westerns, Unforgiven (1992), No Country for Old Men, and one slightly below the radar, Winchester '73.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/01/2011

This film demonstrated a transitioning of Westerns from the clean and moralistic Gary Cooper era to the brutal and violent Peckinpah era. The film has its moments of transcendence and some adrenaline-fueled action sequences that, at the time, had never been seen in a Western film.

Rating of
4/4

CyberWombat - wrote on 01/18/2011

Most cruel and stylish western of all times. Scenes of shooting are simply brilliant. All-time classic.

Rating of
4/4

Simon - wrote on 05/09/2010

A western that touches all the bases. You like gunfights--two of the bloodiest on film. Crave pithy dialogue--check out Holden and Borgnine in any scene together. How about character development--watch bad guys choose honor over riches. All of this is stuffed in a plot that lays out a changing West that is leaving the old timers in the dust. A movie for the ages directed by a master.

Rating of
4/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 05/03/2008

Sam Peckinpah made few good films, but he created The Wild Bunch: The definitive western, with style, pinache, and heaps of bloodletting to boot. Solid characterizations are given by William Holden, Ernest Borgnine, Robert Ryan and Edmond O'Brien. Comraderie among bad men has rarely been so effective, and the direction is superb. Highly recommended! Final Grade: A+

Rating of
3/4

sodapop - wrote on 03/24/2008

There are some amazing aspects to this film, although unfortunately some dragging in the middle as well. Still, it was undeniably groundbreaking for it's time and genre.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?