Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/24/2019

Will Ferrell and Adam McKay follow up "Anchorman" with this pretty solid satirical comedy.

Rating of
2.5/4

Ian - wrote on 09/25/2015

It seems like many obnoxious people love quoting this movie. It is pretty funny after all though. The main joke is a jab at Midwestern "Walmart America" but these same people the movie is mocking, seem to not notice the joke and love it.

Rating of
3.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/19/2011

This movie & Elf are the only Will Ferrell movies I actually enjoyed.The rest are just stupid & annoying

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/10/2011

Will Ferrell doesn't do much for me in this movie, but it's the brilliant supporting cast that really elevates the material. Sacha Baron Cohen steals most of his scenes as Ricky Bobby's French rival and John C. Reilly has an earnest stupidity that makes him the most likable character in the film. A great, sometimes smart, lampooning of the NASCAR scene.

Rating of
2.5/4

lisa wa - wrote on 05/07/2011

It was pretty good for a Will Ferrell movie. The racing was awesome and the jokes were tolerable. Will Ferrell didn't go over the edge trying to be funny this time. He actually let the character's humor work itself out which made the character work a little better. John C. Reily and Will Ferrell worked well together and it is no wonder that they played step brothers in the movie Step Brothers.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/07/2011

This one I like the least of Ferrell and McKay's match-ups. I still think it's funny, just weaker than their other collaborations. It doesn't have many standout moments that make me want to revisit it and some of the one-liners are weak. But it made me laugh nonetheless.

Rating of
2/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

Will Ferrell's comedies are wildly inconsistent, mustering *perhaps* a ratio of 1:30 of funny jokes versus completely unfunny lines. This one had its funniest joke in the first 30 seconds: "America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, bada** speed." -Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936"

Rating of
2.5/4

Freddie - wrote on 03/01/2010

Although I find Will Ferrel to be painfully annoying, this movie wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It had a lot of funny moments.

Rating of
2.5/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 12/05/2008

Plot- 6/10 your standard sports movie but a comedy. It has enough funny moments to recommend and that is all that is required. acting 6/10- Everyone is funny enough although Will Ferrell's accent gets annoying. And those punk kids just really bugged me. look 8/10- The racing scenes are very well filmed actually with a good focus on them that works. Recommend- I suppose to anyone who likes these comedies although it will not make anyone like Will Ferrell it might cause some to hate him.

Rating of
2.5/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 10/28/2008

Will Ferrell these days revels in the kind of overdone comedic style that requires more manic energy than real humor; this film is no exception. It has its moments, mostly provided by the underrated Gary Cole, but many of its biggest jokes fail, particularly anything to do with its ethnic and homosexual villain, Sacha Baron Cohen. Final Grade: C+

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?