Before Sunset Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

Compared to "Before Sunrise," "Before Sunset" isn't nearly as thought-provoking, engaging, or, most importantly, interesting.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/15/2013

An organic continuation of 'Before Sunrise'. We meet up with these characters years later, as they pick up right where they previously left off. It's everything that the first film was in terms of the writing, directing, and acting. I'd give 'Before Sunset' all of the same praises. I didn't quite enjoy the ending as much this time. Yet, it does carry more curiosity with it and makes me want to see the next in the series, 'Before Midnight', all the more.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Even better than the amazing first film! Jesse and Celine reunite after 9 years and their relationship is just as affecting as ever. Before Sunset benefits (again) from a brilliant screenplay and a special/indescribable chemistry between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy. This film cannot be missed.

Rating of
2/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 05/30/2011

As disappointing as the first one. Maybe a bit more boring.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 10/05/2010

Works as well, if not better, as the original. The characters are older, a bit more world-wise, and this shows in the dialogue and the way they behave towards each other. A ponderous, realistic film.

Rating of
3/4

Freddie - wrote on 10/22/2008

Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke did an amazing job with this movie. This was pure acting on both of their parts. It was so realisitc. While watching this I felt like I was the nosy passerby listening in on a really good conversation. I won't say that this movie is for everyone. The movie really is one really long conversation. However, it's very pure and very real and it just makes you think about things in your own life.

Rating of
4/4

FZero - wrote on 02/06/2008

A true romance without all the bullshit and cliché that comes with the territory, about loss, love, fate and your place in the vast sea of life. Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke slide effortlessly back into the roles of Celine and Jesse which they established oh so well nine years ago. They make the movie movie work with the best on-screen chemistry period. As good as the first movie was I feel this one works even better with a more mature tone with characters that have grown to realize you don't get many opportunities in life to find that special person.

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 01/22/2007

I never saw the first movie in the series so it took me a little time to understand what was going on. While the movie did have some good dialog and was very realistic, I never grasped the whole feeling. This wasn't for me, but may be for you.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?