The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Pat - wrote on 02/23/2017

This the greatest overlooked Western of all time. It's how historical movies should be made. Absolutely brilliant.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/15/2014

Slow-moving character study of Robert Ford. I didn't mind the slow pace, except through the much too elongated middle bulk. We know what's coming from the beginning and piling on not-so-important scenes only pads the long running time. Add the mostly unneeded narration, and I became a little agitated for a stretch. The last 20 (or so) minutes carried a unexpected melancholic effect that I admired. There's also more to admire. The film boasts terrific acting, directing, cinematography, and music. As a whole, it's just on the verge of greatness.

Rating of
1/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/25/2011

Man it was tough not falling asleep while watching this movie

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/21/2010

A slow-building film that is more contemplative and reflective than you would expect from a Western. Casey Affleck is masterful as the eventual killer of Jesse James. It's probably too slow for people seeking typical Western shootouts, but it's a much deeper and well-written film than usually is part of the genre.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 06/24/2009

Too long and way too boring - but it earns points for being historically accurate. I can't blame the actors, they all played their parts well, but the script was too dry to keep me interested.

Rating of
3.5/4

The Movie Man - wrote on 05/13/2009

Very well made and acted.

Rating of
2/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 01/21/2009

An absolutely maudlin and frustrating western biography that's too deliberately-paced, emptily-directed and broadly-acted to have much force, though the photography is superb. Casey Affleck is a solid presence, though Brad Pitt seems to fade into the background. Final Grade: C

Rating of
0.5/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 08/08/2008

I don't even know if I should have ranked this movie since my husband and I were soooooo bored by it we ended up turning it off about 1/2 way throught. Maybe the exciting parts were yet to come, but wow!

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 12/26/2007

Chopper modern masterpiece's director steps up to my taste, and for the happyness of perfect filmmaking and recreates the life of this character often associated with a childish man, violent. Remarkable things in this film are cinematography, music and performances. I'm not a big fan of the small Afleck bro, but the guy really owns this part. It's true that's not a conventional western (gun fights and hot prostitutes in tight customs) This is an awesome journey to both minds. The hero and the poor guy that lost his faith.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?