Almost Famous Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/10/2019

Even more touching than Cameron Crowe's earlier instant classic, "Jerry Maguire," "Almost Famous" is a poetic, funny, and moving film about chasing your dreams.

Rating of
3.5/4

Carl - wrote on 12/10/2014

I thought this was a very nostalgic film. Almost Famous captures the 70's rock&roll and the band life well, overall I thought this was a great movie. 3.5/4 or A-

Rating of
3.5/4

Camper - wrote on 06/30/2013

What a great movie. All of the characters fit and they suck you into the era perfectly. When the movie's about to end, I get this strange sadness, as though I'm losing a friend. Probably just me and my strange attachment to good movies though. "That's because we're uncool. And while women will always be a problem for us, most of the great art in the world is about that very same problem. Good-looking people don't have any spine. Their art never lasts. They get the girls, but we're smarter."

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Loved it. Kate Hudson is fantastic; she should have won the Oscar back in 01 over Marcia Gay Harden in Pollock. I can can only imagine how much better Hudson's career would have be if she had won...

Rating of
2.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/28/2012

Enjoyable if rather lightweight comedy cum music industry expose from the over-rated Cameron Crowe. Gently amusing rather than laugh out loud funny (although the plane crash sequence is hilarious!), but hardly the "classic" that many seem to think it is.

Rating of
4/4

Jase - wrote on 01/27/2012

If you're a fan of this movie and haven't seen this version, I'd recommend giving it a watch. I'm not usually a fan of alternate cuts, director's cuts, endless deleted scenes, etc., but this one is really good. It's obvious why some of the scenes were taken out (one includes an OBEY Giant poster, and I think Shepard Fairey was only a toddler in 1973), but others are great and add a lot to the movie. It runs about 40 minutes longer.

Rating of
3/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/17/2011

Good Rock N Roll movie

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/11/2011

One of my favorites. It's so much fun to watch multiple times. A greatly entertaining movie.

Rating of
4/4

Jenna - wrote on 08/10/2011

When I think of this film, I turn into a puddle of human mush for so many reasons, but the one that strikes the deepest chord is the MUSIC! And Kate Hudson as Penny Lane, and Phillip Seymour-Hoffman as Lester Bangs are a close second. There isn't a flaw anywhere in this film. As if Cameron Crowe wasn't already god-like in his directing, this film is a slight reflection on his actual experiences with the Allman Brothers Band. This film is, and always will be, utterly timeless.

Rating of
3/4

Logan - wrote on 03/07/2011

Seeing this movie for the first time when I was fourteen was awesome. At that age you start listening to the Stones, and the who etc. and to see a movie with such an amazing soundtrack and not to mention the dialogue concerning music, it was definetly a delight to watch. I especially love the scenes with Lester Bangs played by Phillip Seymour Hoffman. His role in that film helped nuture my bringing up in rock geekdom. Great movie, nuff' said.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?