Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

There Will Be Blood (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy There Will Be Blood (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy There Will Be Blood (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie list Write Review + Request correction + Submit a plot +

Full Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 23 

  View memento_mori's Profile
memento_mori
Producer
 

06/27/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

More than average entertainment.

Daniel Day-Lewis. He drinks your milkshake. Then wins an Oscar.

Paul Thomas Anderson proves yet again that he is one of the most talented filmmakers working today in this miracle of a movie, where the script, acting, music, direction, cinematography and structure all outweigh each other. I have nothing but applause and praise.
Every scene is basically even better than the last. PTA knows how to pace and piece together a drama to convey the full story.
Daniel Day-Lewis is… someone else. Compare this Daniel Day-Lewis with the one from My Left Foot or Lincoln. I swear, whenever he is on screen: MAGIC. A well-deserved and earned Oscar.
The long, close shots of people's expressions and of landscapes baffle me every time. The angles seem so elegant and never in the wrong frame.
But the c...

Rating of
4/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View symp4thedevil's Profile
symp4thedevil
TV Extra
 

10/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

"There Will Be Blood" by Amanda

Directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and starring Daniel-Day Lewis this was my choice "Best Picture" winner at the Academy Awards and easily one of my favorite films of 2007.

Paul Thomas Anderson's style in this particular film has often been compared to Francois Truffaut, known for his unique character dramas, camera techniques, combined with an underlying message the viewer may not be ready for. It is a masterful combination that most films and flicks lack. Usually it is all flash and spectacle in Hollywood, a slow paced slow forming character drama, a political propaganda piece, etc.

Paul Thomas Anderson, in this rare instance, deserves to be compared to one of the founders of French New Wave because of his spectacular character study that celebrates classic cinema technique with m...

Rating of
3.5/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View Yojimbo's Profile
Yojimbo
Movie God
 

04/10/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

"There Will Be Blood" by Yojimbo

There Will Be Blood follows the rise of oil tycoon Daniel Plainview from his humble beginnings as a prospector working the land with his own two hands through to solitary mansion-bound multi-millionaire. I'm not surprised that this was adapted from a book published in 1927; it has a real old-fashioned feel to it and a palpable sense of authenticity. Therefore anyone used to the constant fast cuts, CGI, pop music soundtracks and wibbly wobbly camera work of modern cinema may find it tough going. It's a character study pure and simple, and Daniel Day Lewis is simply incredible. He is an ACTOR, not a movie star, and at no point to you become aware of the fact that he is just an actor acting; he genuinely brings Plainview to life. Unfortunately for those who like their films with a lovable he...

Rating of
3/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View Daniel Corleone's Profile
Daniel Corleone
Movie God
 

10/30/2011 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

There Will Be Blood review

An artistic film about Daniel Plainview’s (Daniel Day-Lewis) dark journey in becoming a wealthy but deranged, manipulative and lonely oil magnate. He adopts a son H.W. (Dillon Freasier) and teaches him the business of oil prospecting. Paul Sunday (Paul Dano) informs Daniel about his family’s ranch with oil underneath. His brother Eli (Paul Dano), the faith healer, negotiates the price of the land to benefit the Church of the Third Revelation. Some lines from the serious flick: Daniel Plainview – “I drink your milkshake. I drink it up!” “I'm finished.” “There are times when I look at people and I see nothing worth liking. I want to earn enough money I can get away from everyone.” “You're not my son. You're just a little piece of competition.”

The captivating cinematography, uniqu...

Rating of
4/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View joshow's Profile
joshow
Movie Star
 

09/18/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

There Will Be Daniel Day-Lewis


“I’ve abandoned my child! I’ve abandoned my child! I’ve abandoned my boy!” Two days after watching Paul Thomas Anderson’s “There Will Be Blood”, I still find myself replaying Daniel Day-Lewis bellowing out the aforementioned lines over and over in my head. Day-Lewis is absolutely riveting as a self-made oil tycoon in Anderson’s gritty tale of greed, hatred and madness.

I couldn’t help but draw comparisons to Stanley Kubrick’s adaptation of Stephen King’s “The Shining” while watching this piece. From the terrifyingly unsettling score by Radiohead’s Johnny Greenwood, to the prominent theme of extreme isolation, PTA may have officially established himself as the modern day Kubrick.

Day-Lewis is captivating in his portrayal of ruthless, greed obsessed oil tycoon Daniel Plainview...

Rating of
4/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View BmovieJosh's Profile
BmovieJosh
Producer
 

09/18/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

There Will Be Respect

Personally I think that this film doesn't get enough respect. It came out in 08' the same time that the Coen Brothers film 'No Country For Old Men' did. 'There Will Be Blood' won a few Oscars including 'Bes Cina' and 'best Actor in a Leading Role.' I think it should have won best picture for the year. It was a higher quality film the 'No COuntry For Old Men.' 'There Will Be Blood' can be bought at Wal Mart for $3 now. LIke I said, it's Oscar winning and that cheap? Eh... The plot of the story is oil mining. They try their best to make money off oil and find out just what kinda job oil mining really is. This is a great film to watch if you have some down time and wanna kick back, realax, and eat some popcorn. Give 'There Will Be Blood' a chance.

Rating of
3/4 

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View shutterspeed777's Profile
shutterspeed777
Producer
 

04/21/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

GREED STOPS AT NOTHING

Reputed to be one of the most picky actors in the industry, DANIEL DAY-LEWIS (Best Actor 2007) is known to stay in his role/character for the entirety of the film shooting schedule. Bringing in a character like him into an outfit like this, immediately provides quality to the production. An epitome of evil and greed, Daniel Plainview (Day-Lewis) will stop at nothing to get what he wants. What really served as a twist was that Plainview's lust for wealth was matched by the local town preacher Eli Sunday (PAUL DANO). Just solidifies the fact that lust emanates from both sides of the human spectrum. But finally culminates at the same point: BLOODSHED.

Although a bit too overstretched time-wise, Day-Lewis saved the day by his superb acting performance.

Rating of
3/4 

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View *Sarah*'s Profile
*Sarah*
Rising Star
 

12/29/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

A story about family, greed, religion, and oil, centered around a turn-of-the-century prospector in the early days of the business. Well, first things first, I didn't think that I would come across a film that would have the same impact on me when i watched Atonement. Boy was I wrong! Everything in this film is pure genuis on Anderson's part. Stunning cinematography,acting,score,editing....everything that I want in a film and more. An absolute masterpiece.

There Will Be Blood contains some intresting idelogies about surburben America. Most notably an incredibly isolated one. But two that come to mind are this Anti-Religious theme and Ant-capitalism. We see the character of Plaintiff, who feels uncomfortable around Eli Sunday in relation to his evangelical preching. Daniel Day-Lewis' c...

Rating of
4/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View Nosferatu's Profile
Nosferatu
Aspiring Actor
 

11/30/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

There Will Be Satisfaction

There Will Be Blood is Paul Thomas Anderson's tour de force masterpiece about Oil Harvesting in the early 1900's based on Upton Sinclair's classic novel "Oil!". The film is about how greed and corruption build up and at the same time tear down Daniel Plainview (played by Daniel Day Lewis who gives a legendary performance in the Film). The film deals with typical film motifs, like greed, betrayal, corruption and faith, but does so in a way that is somehow eerily realistic, and relevant to the times. It also is packed with explosive performances from the likes of Daniel Day-Lewis as aforementioned and Paul Dano (Juno, Girl Next Door) and a script thats only true flaw is that it's too long. The music by Radiohead member Johnny Greenwood is not only superb, but it truly sets the tone of an Up...

Rating of
3.5/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  View CarrieMiller's Profile
CarrieMiller
TV Extra
 

07/30/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Daniel Day-Lewis deserved his Oscar.

There has been a lot of hype regarding this movie because of the Oscar winning performance of Daniel Day-Lewis, and frankly it is deserved. Based on the book, Oil! by Upton Sinclair, There Will Be Blood is dramatic movie telling the story of Daniel Plainview and his oil business. Daniel Day Lewis plays the title character to perfection showing both the astute businessman and ultimately the power-mad recluse.

The film has remnants of the Western genre thanks to director Paul Thomas Anderson with wide angle landscapes shots, scenes with little or no dialogue and great emphasis on the barron landscape where the film is set. It could have been possible to have shot the movie in black and white for as little color as there is in a lot of the movie.

The plot shows Daniel Plainview begin...

Rating of
2.5/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
 Login with Facebook
For members wanting to use FB to login, click here
remember me  
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Robyn
Top Movie List by Ben
Movies I Own by Kevin
Top Movie List by Gounter
2014 Ranked and Rated by Jacob Zembower
2014: Seen in the Theater by Snoogans
movies of 2015 by skater4159
Top Movie List by Daniel Corleone

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations FilmCrave Friends    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy

MeltedJoystick.com

Hitfix.com

GQTI.com

Hangar1.com

TrailerAddict.com

OVGuide.com

Digitaldreamdoor.com