Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Ringu (1998) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Ringu (1998) DVD from AmazonBuy Ringu (1998) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

DJ 10/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I have seen both, The Ring and Ringu. Between the two of them, I like Ringu better, however, I felt "The Ring" was a little more scarier. Both of these are well done, so I would watch both. The only thing I didn't like was the boy in The Ring. He was very strange. The Ring develops Samara's character a little bit better with the history behind Samara's home life. However both of the Samara's in the two movies are different. If you like psychological horror, I would watch Ringu first, then watch The Ring. No gory scenes.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 04/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Do you know what is so good about this movie? i watched parody on it before it and still it was effective

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 08/18/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A foreign film that really has a cool premise for a horror story. There was a time when video tapes were huge, way before mpegs, laser discs or DVDs. This has one of the scariest background music with really shocking moments that would make you jump out of your seat during the theater. The cinematography and tempo in storytelling was just adequate. I was fortunate to view this in a movie theater to really experience the crowds reaction to this frightening masterpiece. It may have been one of the scariest films I have seen, I wont tell any details but it might change your views of TV and videotapes after viewing this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/21/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The movie that started the so-called "New Wave" of Japanese Horror Movies, Ringu is a spine tingling exercise in psychological terror. Based on a best selling novel by Koji Suzuki which itself takes its origins from a Japanese folk tale, Ringu spawned a number of sequels, prequels and westernised re-makes. It also paved the way for the success of other East Asian fright fests such as Ju-on: The Grudge (2003), Dark Water (2002) and The Eye (2002) (all also re-made for Western eyes). Highly imaginative, unpretentious and quite simply terrifying, Ringu delves deep into the human soul and rips the heart right out of it. Do not watch alone

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fifteen% 07/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

the best japanese horror film of all

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sodapop 03/14/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I haven't seen the American remake, but given the brilliance of this one, I doubt if I need to.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/24/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

J-Horror in top form. Severely entertaining.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/05/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Subtle and nuanced - that's Ringu for you. Without the flash of The Ring, but for some reason far more unsettling, the original Japanese version dispenses with Hollywood glitz and instead focuses on the story and the sound. Sound is key - be it a highly creepy score or just a sound that doesn't fit - Hideo Nakata knows that is isn't just the eyes, but the ears that can scare us. Special effects are all well and good, but sometimes the simplest execution can be the most unnerving of all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy