Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Man on the Moon (1999) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Man on the Moon (1999) DVD from AmazonBuy Man on the Moon (1999) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Matthew Brady 05/16/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Andy Kaufman: "Here I come to save the day". This movie was just brilliant, Jim Carry was so good in this movie playing Andy Kaufman that he should have been nominated for a Oscar.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 01/10/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I am really too young to know Andy Kaufman. I have heard stories from my dad and will now read up on him a bit after seeing this. I was totally enthralled in the movie. Jim Carrey gives us, perhaps his best performance ever. I think he drew the line perfectly to where the mystery between crazy and genius is so diluted that they become the same thing. This is a must-watch for most and a must-watch for people who were around for Kaufman

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Extremely episodic and shallow biopic of Andy Kaufman that's little more than a collection of unfunny recreations of his sketches amid a domestic soap opera.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Andrew 05/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Man on the Moon is often funny, bizarre, and strange. It gives great insight into the life of Andy Kaufman, although it is not completely accurate (films rarely are). Jim Carrey is simply outstanding as Kaufman. This role clearly gave him the opportunity to use his immense physical comedy talents. While the film is a comedy, Carrey clearly shows his abilities as an actor and anyone doubting his great talents should watch this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is Jim Carrey's best performance ever, aside from Eternal Sunshine. He manages to make some sense of the strange character of Andy Kaufman and the film diverts from the usual biopic plot cycle, adding another level of surrealism (with the induction of the alter ego of Tony Clifton.) Smart and poignant.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 01/03/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The story Andy Kaufman's (Jim Carrey) life. George Shapiro (Danny DeVito) signs him to a TV series named Taxi. Kaufman and Bob Zmuda (Paul Giamatti) play a gag on the audience. Lynne Margulies (Courtney Love) and Andy have a relationship. Soundtrack and direction were effective while Jim Carrey's performance was realistic. Man on the Moon is a good comedy for a biographical film despite being a flop in terms of revenue.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Carrey is simply great as the late Andy Kaufman.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Ive only seen Andy Kaufman on TAXI a couple times & the wrestling matches against Jerry Lawler on wrestling DVDs so I really didnt think Id like this movie but I really enjoyed it.The Tony Clifton bits were hilarious

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alexa 03/12/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of my favorite movies. See It.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I liked Taxi. But, I never knew who Andy Kaufman was. This movie shed some light on his comedy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
2017 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies I've Seen by Jesús
Top Movie List by Ben
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy