Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Election (1999) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Election (1999) DVD from AmazonBuy Election (1999) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Yojimbo 10/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Witty and well written social satire based around a high school election for class president. Think Heathers without homicide!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An entertaining and engrossing high school comedy like only Alexander Payne could make. The characters are nuanced and the comedy dark and often savage. All the main cast are playing against type, which is refreshing to see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 09/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Had a unique premise in a dark comedy sort of way. Rarely can you see Reese Witherspoon as the antagonist on screen, Tracy Flick was really evil in a naughty way. Matthew Broderick does a good job as well as the immoral teacher trying to make things right in the school. Good performances all throughout with some really funny scenes. Entertaining, surprising and full of morale lessons from the flawed figures. Election definitely get's my vote.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 08/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A dark (almost black) comedy set in high school. I found it to be very funny and smart. Some may find parts of it to be mean spirited, but the tone works for this particular story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I hated this movie, yet it still had its moments. Matthew Broderick isn't too bad. I would say Skip this Flick instead of Pick Flick, but that's just me. Alexander Payne has much better movies (try Sideways) and so does Reese Witherspoon (try Legally Blonde).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 09/16/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I never was a Reese Witherspoon fan much, but I really enjoy Matthew Broderick as the ultimate anti-Ferris Bueller. The plot is simple, yet manages to hold your attention. It gets too snarky for its own good, but otherwise is well-made.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

frenchfreyteetor 08/07/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

This movie wasn't too bad, but not one of my favorites. I really wanted to see it because it was shot in Omaha and I wanted to what scenes were familar to me in the movie. It was fun to see many things I recognized and many places that I had been.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

leon1638 07/25/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Hmmm. I think this movie is good just because it is so quotable. I think the overacting in this movie is what makes it so great. It feels like they were trying to make the characters so annoying that you wouldn't like them. I am not sure what specifically I like about this movie but I think it is pretty good. I have seen it like 5 times and I would see it again.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Katie 07/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

An overall entertaining movie about high schooler and creepy teacher. Good performances from Reese Witherspoon and Matthew Broderick save a thin plot from becoming an average if slightly more grown-up high school movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy