Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Contact (1997) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Contact (1997) DVD from AmazonBuy Contact (1997) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Yojimbo 06/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Reasonably interesting intelligent sci-fi from the Arthur C. Clarke school. Philosophical rather than action packed, and it tries to look at the issue of science vs. religion from an objective standpoint. McConaughey's character's a bit of a waste of space, but pleasant enough.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Zemeckis creates what is, for the most part, a believable sci-fi universe, populated by characters we want to root for and nuanced and interesting perspectives. He deals with subjects of religion, science, faith, and reason without seeming too heavy-handed. The film falters at a somewhat weak conclusion, sadly.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 09/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

An alien film without actual aliens. The gadgets, acting and settings were impressive, unfortunately that in itself is insufficient to make a good film. So much build up in the climax to only be disappointed in the conclusion. Such a waste that Jodie Foster is in it. Could have been way better if it was created better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/31/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I was kinda disappointed with this movie. I was expecting a lot more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Movie Man 05/19/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Contact is one of Robert Zemeckis's most disappointing films. It has a well written screenplay and good special effects but it's slow and downright boring. Jodie Foster is good in her role, Jena Malone is good as young jodie and William Fichtner is also good. but Matthew Mcconaughey is wasted and Tom Skerritt is simply annoying. The "twist" is ridiculously stupid and there are just to many false-endings. This is a big waste of a good concept.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 02/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A movie you watch and are interested in throughout and you continue to watch for awhile longer. Then bam you get hit up with the pay off and it all depends on how you feel about that payoff that makes this film good or not. I am mixed with the scene therefore I give it a mixed review.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 08/16/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I read the book and this film is magnificent adaptation. What I really enjoyed is the aproach they made to the aliens. They're not any kind of puppets, or stereotype... they're there. They're a concept, or a sound... a pulse. I love Jodie Foster as Alex said, and sci fi, so this one is great. In fact, I find it underrated.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 07/20/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I never really got into this film. Conceptually, it should work, but I didn't believe it at all. I don't know if it was Jodie Foster or the unsatisfying conclusion, but I never connected with it at all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/05/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I can't over look the ending and some of the other concepts of this film. It starts of well, but the falls off and becomes unbelievable - just like the movie and Jodi Foster's character. I would stay away unless you LOVE foster and sci fi.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 02/13/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I fell in love with this movie from the beginning. It is one of those films that really gets you thinking about the "what ifs" The acting of Jodie Foster and William Fichtner is great, one of her best roles.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best of 2016 by Nick
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy