Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977) DVD from AmazonBuy Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Matthew Brady 08/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A fantastic Sci-Fi film with remediable moments.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 07/02/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A classic tale of wonderment and associated UFO obsession. Richard Dreyfus is at his most likeable as a young husband and father who develops an irresistable compulsion after witnessing a UFO. This film is a bit of a case of the journey being more important than the destination; I actually found the effects laden finale the least interesting part of the film, but there's some classic Spielberg along the way, most notably the sequence involving the alien abduction of a small boy. A little overlong, but still great family entertainment.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

theCriticalMarisa 04/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Both times I tried to watch this movie I fell asleep. It just wasn't holding my interest. I'm a Spielberg fan and I like sci-fi movies, but this one just didn't do it for me. I may give it another chance in the future, since so many people consider it a classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An alien-centric story all about the the UFO. Through amazing music and visuals, the film builds anticipation of it's inevitable contact with intrigue, mystery and wonder. The vague nature of the extraterrestrials adds a lasting quality to the experience. 'Close Encounters' is an engaging sci-fi tale that holds up today.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/30/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is an utterly magical and novel approach to the idea of alien invasion. In this film, Spielberg approaches an alien invasion in about as realistic a way as can be done, given the premise. Some characters react to the film's events with confusion, others with wonder, others with paranoia, others with fear. To me, it seemed a fairly accurate way to portray the way various people might act under the circumstances. The film itself is about discovery and wonder and the final third is absolutely perfect.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 09/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I feel that this is a film ahead of its time. Could have been a classic if the characters were likable and the look was a bit dated. Amazing film score, cinematography and visual effects. In my opinion, if the ship and aliens were seen in the middle then people would have been more interested than the long build-up. The plot and pace could have used a bit of tweaking. Performances from the cast stood out and Richard Dreyfuss was amazing in his role. Still, Close Encounters of the Third Kind has the drama, humor, and screenplay that makes it one of the best Alien/UFO related films around.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Dave Hall 03/02/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is still my favourite Spielberg film. I saw it when I was young and it filled me with wonder and awe. Dreyfuss was on top form. This film has stayed with me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Aza 11/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Close Encounters is an intriguing science-fiction film. Although confusing at times; the film delivers some intense and spectacular sequences

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie is a little odd, and hard to believe. But, somehow, it works for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jenelle's Profile 06/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Nothing short of amazing. I sincerely loved the experience of watching this film. The payoff was well, well worth the entire move. Still, the movie was great all in all. AMAZING.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy