Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Beowulf (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Beowulf (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy Beowulf (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Matthew Brady 07/12/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Beowulf is kind of a ass-hole in this film. The story is about a evil monster Grendel and her mother due to the fact that they are terrorizing villages until Beowulf has to save the day. The animation in this film was okay I mean at times it looked stunning but at times it looked a bit fake. The main character of the film (Beowulf) and he is kind of a dick, at the first he was okay but toward there end he became a ass and a idiot.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 10/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A story of a brave warrior Beowulf (Ray Winstone) together with his trusted friend Wiglaf (Brendan Gleeson) and fellow soldiers travel to Denmark to slay a monster called Grendel (Crispin Glover). The subjects tackled were temptation for power, loyalty and maturation of ones character. So many big names were involved but overall, just a decent film with loads of action, drama with a simple story. Beowulf is definitely for mature audiences who want to try this type of format.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fifteen% 07/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

great animations! the first time i saw the trailer i thought it was live-action. well-written by roger avary and neil gaiman!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

CJP 09/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Action: 2/3 + Comedy: 0/2 + Good vs Evil: 1/1 + Love/Sex: 0.5/1 + Special Effects: 0.5/1 + Plot: 1/1 + Music: 1/1 = 6/10 or 60%. The animation and certain 3-D aspects of Beowulf (for example the final fight, the environment) are a sight to behold and Grendel is truly scary. Other aspects of the 3-D scoping become tiresome as there always seems to be something just off camera over and over and over. This pattern drags down an otherwise tense filled action saga of moral decay to average territory.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 04/14/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The story of Beowulf, made with real actors but then animated somehow, is an okay movie. I have to admit, while I had it on I would find other things to do, like loading the dishwasher, replying to email, working on other stuff,etc. The animation is all right but at times it's distracting, because it looks like you're watching a video game. If you're not expecting much, you should enjoy it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FZero 03/01/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

As much as the animation gets discussed and the pros and cons are weighed, thats not what the movie was about to me. The dark tone and the flawed hero is what made it so damn enjoyable. Yes, in a film where eye candy is king good old fashioned story telling still rules.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

catmeows84 01/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I really like this movie. I thought the animation was great, and the story was good too. It had good actions scenes too.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SarahG0327 12/19/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I can't say that I either loved or hated this movie. I saw it in 3-D and I think that was my favorite part. I must say that in some parts I expected a soft porn to break out. But, I have always liked the story of Beowulf and I felt the concept and execution was very good. It's worth a look if you're interested in something different.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The MovieBuff 11/26/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Wouldn't it be cheaper to make a live action movie with the actors? I was not really impressed with the CGI characters. I felt the 'acting' to be a bit stiff, and the characters expressionless.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nick 11/25/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I was pretty impressed with how far they have come with CGI. Some scenes were quite realistic, while others needed more work. You can tell that they had different people working on different characters for the movie. The scenery was excellent. They have clearly set a new benchmark with what can be accomplished. This movie could have used a better written script, making it a more well-rounded movie. If you want to enjoy some eye candy and a few good action scenes, go watch this movie, if you are wanting a good story, pass on this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy