Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Almost Famous (2000) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Almost Famous (2000) DVD from AmazonBuy Almost Famous (2000) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

Carl 12/10/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I thought this was a very nostalgic film. Almost Famous captures the 70's rock&roll and the band life well, overall I thought this was a great movie. 3.5/4 or A-

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Camper 06/30/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

What a great movie. All of the characters fit and they suck you into the era perfectly. When the movie's about to end, I get this strange sadness, as though I'm losing a friend. Probably just me and my strange attachment to good movies though. "That's because we're uncool. And while women will always be a problem for us, most of the great art in the world is about that very same problem. Good-looking people don't have any spine. Their art never lasts. They get the girls, but we're smarter."

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Loved it. Kate Hudson is fantastic; she should have won the Oscar back in 01 over Marcia Gay Harden in Pollock. I can can only imagine how much better Hudson's career would have be if she had won...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Enjoyable if rather lightweight comedy cum music industry expose from the over-rated Cameron Crowe. Gently amusing rather than laugh out loud funny (although the plane crash sequence is hilarious!), but hardly the "classic" that many seem to think it is.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jase 01/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

If you're a fan of this movie and haven't seen this version, I'd recommend giving it a watch. I'm not usually a fan of alternate cuts, director's cuts, endless deleted scenes, etc., but this one is really good. It's obvious why some of the scenes were taken out (one includes an OBEY Giant poster, and I think Shepard Fairey was only a toddler in 1973), but others are great and add a lot to the movie. It runs about 40 minutes longer.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Good Rock N Roll movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of my favorites. It's so much fun to watch multiple times. A greatly entertaining movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jenna 08/10/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

When I think of this film, I turn into a puddle of human mush for so many reasons, but the one that strikes the deepest chord is the MUSIC! And Kate Hudson as Penny Lane, and Phillip Seymour-Hoffman as Lester Bangs are a close second. There isn't a flaw anywhere in this film. As if Cameron Crowe wasn't already god-like in his directing, this film is a slight reflection on his actual experiences with the Allman Brothers Band. This film is, and always will be, utterly timeless.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Logan 03/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Seeing this movie for the first time when I was fourteen was awesome. At that age you start listening to the Stones, and the who etc. and to see a movie with such an amazing soundtrack and not to mention the dialogue concerning music, it was definetly a delight to watch. I especially love the scenes with Lester Bangs played by Phillip Seymour Hoffman. His role in that film helped nuture my bringing up in rock geekdom. Great movie, nuff' said.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is probably Cameron Crowe's most personal and autobiographical film and, thus, one of his best. It's filled with loving nods to classic music and rock journalism, some subtle humor, and, overall, memorable character performances. Plus, the soundtrack is awesome.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies of 2012 by Stoney McStonerson
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
Superhero Films by SIngli6
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy