Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Grave of the Fireflies ( Hotaru no haka ) (1988) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Grave of the Fireflies ( Hotaru no haka ) (1988) DVD from AmazonBuy Grave of the Fireflies ( Hotaru no haka ) (1988) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Camper 07/02/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

So I remember watching this movie for the first time when I was nine....My dad just saw that it was animated and we all like Japanese films so he didn't take the time to read the back cover. It was pretty intense for a nine year old, the mother dies within the first half hour- you see her body covered in bandages and flies are circling around her, and the scenes toward the end are extremely depressing. It's not the sort of things that you would normally find in an animated film, but it all works very well.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 08/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This may be my favorite Miyazaki film. It is a magical and visual film that, at the same time, is telling a very real and heartbreaking story of poverty during wartime. It's rare to find such insight and adult themes treated with such wisdom, especially in an animated film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 03/28/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I'd read up on this film prior to watching it and with everyone saying its the saddest film you'll ever see, my sceptism rose and thought to myself, I've probably seen sadder. Not so. By the end i was in utter shock at what i'd just seen. It is absolutelty heartbreaking. There are several moments throughout that are just beautifully done, and by the end it has you completely.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

aknudse2 09/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Grave of the Fireflies is a poignant tale of two orphans suffering during war and how hard times can harden hearts. At times, my tears flowed freely, and, even during lighter moments, the shadow of death did not stray far. The film reminded me of "Life is Beautiful" with the child protagonists' determination to draw upon the joy of existence even amidst helpless suffering. Don't be deterred by the "anime" genre. This is an extraordinarily moving film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Hidde 06/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of the best anime ever! I watch the second version but the anime version is the best. Sad story, prepare to cry when watch it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Arek 04/12/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

More people are beginning to realize what anime fans have known for a long time - this movie is a work of art. Based loosely on an autobiographical novel by Akiyuki Nosaka, this movie tells the heart wrenching story of two Japanese children orphaned by World War II. Although profoundly antiwar, this movie is not at all pretentious in the way it tells its tale. The animation is crisply drawn, but the real beauty of the film lies in its simplicity. Winning wide critical acclaim, this film was recently placed on Roger Ebert's 'Top 100 films of All Time' List.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fake_username 02/26/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Contains some of the most powerful scenes I've ever seen in an animated film. It rivals many emotionally powerful real life movies even.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Beautiful, poetic, graphic and suprisingly human - this is one of the best animated films ever made. It also tops my list of saddest films ever made - if you do not shed a tear, you may not be human.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies of 2012 by Stoney McStonerson
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
Superhero Films by SIngli6

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy