Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Starship Troopers (1997) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Starship Troopers (1997) DVD from AmazonBuy Starship Troopers (1997) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Ian 09/15/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Decent enough film which could have been a masterpiece with some minor changes. Nothing really stands out that much, it isn't any where near "Aliens" caliber, and the cast are somewhat obnoxious.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 04/26/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Why do I enjoy this movie?. why do I like this movie and everybody hated it?. because this movie was action pack stupid fun.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Despite some interesting concepts and fearsome villains (the bug aliens are thoroughly nasty), this film feels exploitive at times (yes, shower scene, I'm talking about you), and cheesy at others. It has the framework for a special sci-fi film, but probably needed a better director (Verhoeven is hit and miss, at best.)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/25/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Another solid sci-fi action movie from Paul Verhoeven. A war film in space... with giant bugs! Great SFX and lots of fun.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Naveen 02/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Anyone who liked this movie obviously has not read Heinlein's novel, or enjoys trite and completely non-engaging film making that shamefully takes the "Starship Troopers" moniker. Heinlein would be ashamed at this interpretation of his book, which seemed to try to poke fun at the military sci-fi genre rather than advancing a rational viewpoint through fiction. The plot effectively was made up instead of adapted from the book, and there basically was no ending to the storyline. The acting flat out sucked and the script was cheesy, not satirical in any way. Don't let artsy critics connive you into watching this, read the novel instead.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Bahamut 03/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is without a doubt, the greatest B-Movie of all time. You have the unlikely (yet obvious) hero (Van Dien), a damsel who ends up in distress (Richards), a minor foil to the hero and the damsel's inevitable love on both ends (Muldoon pursuing Richards and Meyer pursuing Van Dien), the king of all B-Movies (no, not Eric Roberts, Michael Ironside rookies!), and bugs that aim to kill all humans, and the stage is set for an intergalactic battle. And to top it all off, it's a parody wrapped in a political message. "Would you like to know more?"

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Hidde 06/19/2008 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I love science fiction. I love fantasy. I love space , adventure, war, and robots movie. I enjoyed it, but... I still don't like starship troopers. Why? I don't know, maybe because the sequel was so bad.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 08/15/2007 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Not that I'm the biggest fan of Verhoeven, but I really love Robocop and Total recall. This movie, though, sucks. And don't start the "it's a parody" thing. Because it sucks on every genre. Is not funny and also stupidily disgusting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 06/29/2007 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is one of those films that's easy to dismiss, but if you look under all those special effects, there's actually an engaging story. Is there a message underneath all those bug guts? Survey says - yes. And they still have fun with it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 03/30/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

With a hot cast, incredible special effects (that hold up very well today), a solid intergalactic story, and some great one liners, this one is hard to pass up. The key is the world it creates in the short time. The music is good as well.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
2016 Movies by Mr Cinema
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Films of 2011 by Neobowler
Top Thriller Movies by Rod
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy