Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Shine (1996) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Shine (1996) DVD from AmazonBuy Shine (1996) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

mitchellyoung 01/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is an exciting biopic with the right blend of touching and triumphant moments. Geoffrey Rush proves what a nuanced actor he is, earning his Oscar soundly with a completely involving performance as the autistic musical genius.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a great, underrated biopic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An incredible film with one of the greatest performances by Geoffrey Rush Ever!!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 03/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A good film with a great soundtrack about the life of a pianist with many problems. I liked the first half a lot more where you really saw him turn into what he is when he is older. The older half did not work because it was much to fast and skipped around to much. As in he got to that mental hospital instantly and then got married pretty instantly. I liked the piano scenes and the interactions with his father even though they were historically inaccurate.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rainmaker203 11/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The film isn't a masterpiece, but Geoffrey Rush's performance certainly is.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A disturbing look at the life of pianist-genius David Helfgott. Although a dark story, both Rush (the adult Helfgott) and Alex Rafalowicz (the young Helfgott) do an amazing job brining Helfgott to life.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rakkie 01/17/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

only for geoffrey rush. thats all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 09/18/2007 (0 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I always confused this movie with the Shining. I hadn't seen the shining and I thought Shine was supposed to be scary. However, it was never scary except for when the father beat the son. I didn't like Shine and thought it was overly pretentious.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy