Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Rushmore (1998) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Rushmore (1998) DVD from AmazonBuy Rushmore (1998) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

FSUNoles27TS 01/23/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I have now seen what I would say is Wes Anderson's top 3; in my order from best is Moonrise, Tenenbaums, and then Rushmore. His other movies in my opinion are not in the same class of greatness. This movie was really good as I am a big Anderson fan. While his style of slow, sweet, and innocent (but not innocent) love stories always seem to grab me. This had the Teacher/Student relationship, like Tenenbaums had Brother/Sister, and Moonrise had just plain rebellious love between children. It works for him. Rushmore did drag on a bit through the middle, but it still rescued itself with a beautiful ending. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie as it is a testament of the strength of love and friendship, also dabbling quite a bit in forbidden love.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Rushmore is Wes Anderson's best filim - darkly funny, poignantly sad, and nostalgic in a way that remembers the most awkward stages of adolescence. The rivalry that Schwartzman and Bill Murray's character develop is as hilarious as the relationship Schwartzman shares with Olivia Williams is sad.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 03/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A more accessibly quirky and funny adolescent comedy. The story and characters are enjoyable and there are a few dark comic touches. Nicely done.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mm4jmoeller 10/24/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I was smiling the whole time and I really enjoyed it. The characters and their crazy actions make this so much fun to watch. The characters and plot are right on the border of believability. It's great to watch irrational people make interesting decisions with entertaining results.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Franz Patrick 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

What an endearing film! All the characters are very flawed in multiple ways but you learn to love them because such flaws make them interesting to get to know. Since everyone's comparing this film to "The Royal Tenenbaums," I'm going to offer my opinion: They're both good films but "Rushmore" is a little better. An astute movie for astute people. I'm not a big fan of Jason Schwartzman, but after watching this movie, he's convincing me that I'm wrong about his range as an actor.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 11/22/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A f***ing excellent movie. I have it on VHS. Jason Schwartzman's beret is sexy. Yay.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/02/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Funny, dark comedy that is slow moving yet some how enjoyable. I wouldn't say it is the greatest thing in the world, but some people really like this flick. But, I would say that is not the norm. If you like Napoleon Dynamite, go for this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

It's hard to classify Rushmore. It's a comedy, of a unique brand. It's a drama, but hard to take seriously. Welcome to the world of Wes Anderson. Using a combination of music, quirky characters and snappy dialouge he make a memorable film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy