Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Queen, The (2006) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Queen, The (2006) DVD from AmazonBuy Queen, The (2006) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Ingrid Bergman 09/03/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Fascinating look at the political impact of the turbulent weeks following the death of Princess Diana on both the newly elected Labor Prime Minister. Mr.Tony Blair and on the British Royal Family. Helen Mirren and Michael Sheen are extraordinarily good in their roles as the Queen and the Prime Minister respectively.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A great modern period piece featuring a virtuoso performance from Helen Mirren.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The Queen is a tour-de-force investigation into the aftermath of a tragedy that shook a country. Those unfamiliar with the history of Princess Diana's death will be caught up in the bold combination of thematic ideas, incredible acting, and sharp storytelling. Helen Mirren caps an impressive career with one of her most fully bodied performances and Michael Sheen nearly matches her depth with a human portrayal of PM Blair that sidesteps caricature.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

That's acting. And rich story telling too. A very unique look at a pivotal week in Britain's history, and the reconciliation of tradition and modernization.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/12/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The only qualm I had with this film was a purpose. What was the point of detailing the Queen of England's reactions to the death of Princess Diana. There was a great human condition thing going for the film, but it never really went anywhere interesting, but rather became stuck in the "controversy" of her actions. Helen Mirren did a wonderful job, as did James Cromwell and Michael Sheen, but as a whole, I think once was enough for this particular film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 10/30/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Regal drama with excellent characterizations by Helen Mirren and Michael Sheen. Final Grade: B+

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Neobowler 01/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It wasn't exactly the most entertaining movie. However Helen Mirren was amazing in her performance, I can't deny that. I'm not sure how true it was to the way things went down. But it was very interesting to look into the lives of the Royal Family. However, shouldn't have been a Best Picture nominee.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Franz Patrick 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Okay, so I have this reputation of loving anything British/European. Naturally, I had to see this film, right? Wrong! I initially did not have any intention of watching this film at all... until it started garnering Oscar nominations. I had to see what the hype was all about so I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did because it really is a unique experience. It's not every day that I watch a film about the Queen. When the credits started rolling, I knew that Helen Mirren deserved to win that Best Actress Oscar. She was stern but not unfeeling, elegant but flawed. It's difficult for most actors to find a balance between those, let alone make it seem so effortless. Very good movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/22/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Never has the Queen been so rigid. BORING - and I hear that the writer didn't even do all the research necessary. Helen Mirren is good, but in other movies. Forget about this. Don't waste your time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 11/05/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Let's say that if the movie is at least an 80% accurate on the facts, everything is pretty much impressive. I'm not very familiar with european customs, except what everyone knows. Even less with english ones. So, Frears does a very nice job showing what happened years ago in England. In the first 15 mins. you can see what's going to be about the whole thing- the fight between traditions and the new globalization view, wich is like mixing water and oil. Both things are undeniable truth, and sadly for both, the have to live together, otherwise, everything might collapse. Of course the acting is fantastic and considering the duration, you have a very solid film, with an interesting script and a great score. Truly recommendable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy