Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

On the Waterfront (1954) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy On the Waterfront (1954) DVD from AmazonBuy On the Waterfront (1954) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Snoogans 07/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Good script and acting. The characters face some moral decisions that still make you ponder, even if they aren't relevant now.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 10/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A great film, helped out by great performances from Brando, Saint, and Malden (actually, the whole cast is pretty strong). The politics and plot are pretty dated for today's time, but regardless, the film still holds up well 50-plus years later. The film features some classic lines and scenes that are still powerful today. Definitely should be watched for the career making performances of Brando and Saint.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Despite some dated social concepts, the film is worth watching for Marlon Brando's powerhouse performance - a true acting clinic. His performance captures attention and will never diminish with age, as it is most certainly his best work.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 02/21/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A truly brilliant masterpiece of a film. I cannot explain how good this movie is. The story is emotionally powerful and interesting. The atmosphere of the directing really gives a look into the lives of the longshoremen. The haunting score by Leonard Bernstein works so well and is effective in every scene. And of course the acting is some the greatest seen on film, not just Brando but the brilliant supporting cast especially Rod Steiger and Karl Malden. The film is great throughout and builds to a fantastic climax. Some are bothered by the message but I do not see why. The film is anti corruption not unions that is incredibly clear, and it is brave to testify if the parties are guilty.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 08/21/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I'd read the hype around Brando in this film and the film itself, and for the most part I do agree. There are several brilliant moments, most of them dialogue or character tics coming from Brando himself. He does have a great screen presence as does Eva Marie Saint, but unfortunatly its the story that suffers. Its sets off at a slow pace and doesn't pick up until the final half hour, and I didn't think there was enough character and intrigue going on to keep it all interesting. So it's great, but maybe not rewatchable great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/10/2009 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I really thought that I was going to love this movie. But, I just didn't. Perhaps it was the political theme that bothered me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 05/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This movie is dated and so it was hard to deal with it at times, but it was a good story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 04/12/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

You can tell this film is over 50 years old now, but it still holds some of the most powerful performances on film. Marlon Brando is at his prime here - a film classic no one should pass up.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 01/03/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of Brando's best. A movie that makes me feel like I was there. A great story of corruption and the sacrifices people make to stop it. Black and White at it's best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/19/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

This movie could have been something, if I would have cared. Brando is great, but there is not enough here to keep my attention. I am spoiled. Dated.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies of 2012 by Stoney McStonerson
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
Superhero Films by SIngli6
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy