Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Miller's Crossing (1990) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Miller's Crossing (1990) DVD from AmazonBuy Miller's Crossing (1990) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

FSUNoles27TS 01/10/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

First off, if you are reading this review, I don't see eye to eye with other fan's views on the Coen brothers. I think they have put together a lot of decent films and a couple great ones, but I don't find many of their films "special". This movie is no exception. I found it to be okay. I watched it all the way through at least. It is just flat to me. I didn't feel very strong feelings towards any of the players, except maybe the sister, she was easy to hate. With these gangster type movies, what really draws me is when I feel emotionally connected to what is happening through liking the one side or hating the other. I feel they did not accomplish that with these characters.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 04/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great movie. Very smart, it will surprise you. Do not underrate it and it will be your favourite noir(neo-noir, whatever).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/12/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a pretty straightforward film from the Coen Brothers, an homage to noir and gangster films. Of course, it is populated with the usual slightly strange caricature characters that the Coens have become known for. Not as thought-provoking as later films of theirs, but an effective crime thriller, with dark comedy elements.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/04/2011 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

1 of the worst gangster flicks Ive seen

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Mr. B.K. Tinney 04/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Perfectly written by the Coen brothers and superbly directed by brother Joel this is one of my favorite all-time Mobster flics that has a tone unlike most gangster movies. Gabriel Byrne and Albert Finney are excellent in the movie as are John Turturro, Steve Buscemi and Michael Jeter and it really is a fine piece of work from the genius filmmakers. My only complaint would be the casting of Marcia Gay Harden, who is a fine and udnerrated actress but in my opinion is not a leading love interest. Still, I have always been a big fan of Byrne's and wish he had done more work and who doesn't like Finney.......great work indeed.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Unfortunately, I didn't like this one that much.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

bigbro 07/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I thought it was pretty good. One of the most original gangster movies of its time. Byrne makes the movie so if you don't really enjoy his character, you probably wont enjoy the movie that much. I liked the character, however, so I think it compares very favorably to the usual suspects and is better in many ways despite the blockbuster cast of suspects.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 06/27/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Being fans of Fargo and The Big Lewbowski, I think this might have some potential especially after hearing it is a noir flick. I was let down quite a bit as it never really moved or satisfied my senses. Fargo and TBL are much better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy