Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Life is Beautiful ( vita bella, La ) (1998) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Life is Beautiful ( vita  bella, La ) (1998) DVD from AmazonBuy Life is Beautiful ( vita  bella, La ) (1998) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

mitchellyoung 02/22/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Life is Beautiful" is a bold and life-affirming movie that brilliantly blends comedy (some of it dark) and tragedy. Director Benigni gives his best acting performance in a story that is clearly very dear to the director/actor's heart. The film places a unique perspective on WWII and ends in typical uplifting fashion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tammy 12/31/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of Roberts Benigni's best films. Easily the best foreign film of 1998. Totally memorable!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/01/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Yes, so beautiful. Some movies just get better and better. The first half is a romantic comedy, and the second half is the sacrifice that the culmination of romance entails. My favorite foreign film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 11/09/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I feel that Life is Beautiful is one of the best movies I've ever seen and that everyone should really see it. It is hard to make a truly funny movie about the Holocaust. The movie is very dark despite the humor (it is about concentration camps), but this is a movie about hope in the face of hopeless situations.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/21/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Life Is Beautiful" is by far one of the best foreign films of all time. Its message of endurance and the strength of love between a family in the midst of tragedy is universal and important. Roberto Benigni [despite his award show antics] is a wonderful writer and performer. And the end of this movie will leave you in tears of happiness and sadness. Its that good!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 07/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Its a bizzare film of two halves. But the first half is so likable and funny that you have to stick with the second half because you care about the characters. Its a very touching piece of cinema, and the relationship between the father and son is especially moving. I'm not sure whether it all glued together for the duration, possibly a bit repetetive during the second half, but still, its a great film that deserves your attention.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Cal 12/15/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

There couldn't be a movie with more heart. It's a wonderful story about a man raising and keeping together a family in the hardest time in modern history.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/10/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a heart-warming, sad movie that almost made me cry many times. Yet, it's also full of humor, hopefulness and, of course, life. This is a very emotional, inspirational movie as well. Everyone should watch it. It really touches the soul, and warms the heart.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/11/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What can I say? I love this flick. Maybe should I add it as my guilty pleasure? I laugh everytime I see it, I cry everytime I see it, I get pissed everytime I see it... Can't help it. Bennigni made an awesome film, that has some touches of Chaplin's Ditactor and Schindler's list, kind of a mixture of them. If are not the type of crying viewer for some films, don't watch it. You wont find a big deal in it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Hailes 07/25/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

While a sad movie, it also inspires hope as a man turns his time in a Holocaust detention center into a game to help his young son survive. I would recommend this to anyone, although for those who cry easily I would suggest some Kleenex.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
My Wish List by goodguy28
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy