Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Howl's Moving Castle ( Hauru no ugoku shiro ) (2005) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Howl's Moving Castle ( Hauru no ugoku shiro ) (2005) DVD from AmazonBuy Howl's Moving Castle ( Hauru no ugoku shiro ) (2005) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Snoogans 04/14/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This is my first experience with acclaimed filmmaker Miyazaki, and it most likely won't be the last. Everything about the artwork of this animation is so precise. The colors and moving images are arresting in their simple yet detailed expression. The story is quite creative, to say the least. Not much is ever explained about the 'how' and 'why' of certain characters. I would've liked for some actual rules to be established with the magic element. The mythology is muddled. The characters are distinctly individual. Each has their own quirky personality that adds different shades to the offbeat humor.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

My very first Miyazaki film, and what a spectacle it was. The animation was absolutely gorgeous; there is truly nothing else like it out there. When it comes to foreign films, I always try to skip dubbed versions and just go along with subtitles; I wish I would have done the same here. At times the script was very cheesy, and I can't help but think that the Japanese to English translation attributed to that. Also, the story got very confusing, especially at the end. Overall though, I absolutely loved this film. Breathtaking and beautiful!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

☠ kyrstin. ♒ 06/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Whimsy, fun, and beautiful.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/10/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This isn't the most creative or beautiful Miyazaki film, but it still holds plenty of charm and memorable visual content. The plot gets a little hard-to-follow and murky in the middle, but the wit, inventive characters, and extraordinary animation are enough to make this a worthy part of the legendary director's filmography.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Mokona 06/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Definately the best Miyazaki movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

salivafan 03/17/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Howls moving castle is one of my all time favorites. It is about a young teenage girl who seeks for help by a magical wizard named Howl. Apparently the young teenage girl has been cursed by the witch of the waste. She has been turned into an old lady and can only undo the curse by her one true love. I would recommend this to alot of anime fans like me. Especially people who love adventure and romance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lulu1220 01/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Another one of my favorite films and on my "Movies I can watch over and over" list. Great story and visually beautiful. I really liked Billy Crystal as the voice of the fire demon. However I really love listening to Christian Bale as the voice of Howl. Lauren Bacall did a wonderful job as the voice of the Witch of the Waste.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/21/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Miyazaki creates another masterpiece in animation. If you are familiar with his work you will notice the themes: there is no true good or evil - just shades of gray. It's anti-war as well - but don't let that scare you, it's a family film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2004 Films Watched by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Best Movies of the 2010s by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy