Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The French Connection (1971) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The French Connection (1971) DVD from AmazonBuy The French Connection (1971) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Gabe 08/12/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Probably not the Best Picture of 1971, although it was a fairly week field, I would have preferred A Clockwork Orange. But, it's a fine film. I think it's a little overrated, but it's entertaining.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Indyfreak 01/23/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

One of the most overrated films I've ever seen. This is the pre-eminent cop thriller in all of Hollywood history? What for? And don't bring up that car chase either! That chase is the only reason I give it any stars at all. It's certainly well made and exciting and all that jazz. Strangely it felt so out of place compared to the rest of the movie which is this grainy and dirty cop flick. It's as cheap as it looks and expects audiences to forgive its slow pace and unlikeable characters if we toss in a car chase in the mid section. Now way in hell did this deserve Best Picture.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 08/18/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Didn't really like it to be honest.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An absorbing crime thriller. The gritty realism of the story was a great departure for the time it was released and has helped the film not loose any of it's thrill over the years. Tough characters populate an even tougher environment. This roughness is present within the story, taking some memorable turns for the worst.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a murky crime thriller that seems to be more about atmosphere than it is about a clearcut plot. The grittiness and nastiness of Hackman's character sets it apart from most other crime films that feature "honorable" police officers. The car chase scene is, I think, the best ever made, besting even Bullitt's iconic chase.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 09/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A solid and gritty crime drama, as two cops do what they can to break up a drug smuggling operation in early 1970s New York. Hackman is strong as Popeye Doyle, one of his more famous roles, and Scheider is strong as well as his partner. Director Friedkin gives us some smart scenes and angles in creating the tension and build-up as the cops zero in on their targets. Famous for its car chase scene (which modern audiences may find tame compared to today's special effects) and Hackman's Academy Award winning performance, TFC still holds up well in today's time.. Blu-ray release has, for some reason, a color tint to it to give it a grittier look, which is completely unnecessary.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/13/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I didn't understand most of it. And, what little I did understand I didn't particularly care for. But, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt in my rating.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheWolf 08/20/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The film at its core is a tense, slow-moving thriller, dramatic in its musical score and over-acted brutality. Scenes are left to their own devices, moving forth indeterminately, in a very drama-characteristic fashion. However, there's plenty of chasing and violence to satisfy an `action' classification. This action, however, is played so that it's less about the adrenaline rush, and more about that tense underlying heartbeat. The style of the film then, is a very paced and dingy chase scene.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 07/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

It may not be the masterpiece it's made out to be, but so many other films owe a debt of gratitude to the French Connection that it deserves respect. Hackman is great as the hard-nosed Det. "Popeye" Doyle - one of his best roles.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/21/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Action movie? Best Picture? Good car chases? No No No. This film really shows it is dated. The chases and the action scenes are sub par compared todays standards in my opinion. "The French Connection" is over rated and outdated.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy