Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Fargo (1996) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Fargo (1996) DVD from AmazonBuy Fargo (1996) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 18 

Pat 02/11/2017 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Fargo provides a balance of cinema and reality while perfectly executing a strange, brutal, but incredible true narrative.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 05/06/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It's funny but I guess this movie just isn't my type of comedy. The cop is really funny and it has a good plot line. I would still recommend it because you may find it amazing

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 04/03/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A fantastic dark comedy with some of the best characters to ever grace the big screen. The story and writing is absolutely amazing, as it takes place in the perfect setting. A must-watch for all. Doncha Kno

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/24/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Fargo is quintessential Coen Brothers. It is a film, populated by slightly off characters, that reveals the depths of human character and behavior, using black comedy and a macabre plotline as a backdrop. The film is sarcastically funny, but doesn't cut back on the occasional brutality of its plot.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Marielle 11/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I can't grasp the fact that it's based on a true story. Allthough all the caracters are great and the movie too. But i guess that if it hadn't been a true story i would've liked it less..

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/10/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of the Coen's best. This 'based on a true story' film feels more like you are watching the actual true story than watching a movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 08/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I remember watching Fargo when it 1st came out on VHS & for some reason not liking it at all.After watching it today I dont think it lived up to its hype but its still a good movie & Id recommend anybody to see Fargo at least once

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 08/10/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Though it lacks the pungent wit of superior Coen efforts such as 'Miller's Crossing', 'The Man Who Wasn't There', 'Burn After Reading', and 'A Serious Man', 'Fargo' still manages to astound contemporary audiences with it's neat screenplay and brilliant acting. Additionally, Carter Burwell's melodious themes for the film are easily amongst the most haunting I have ever encountered in cinema.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

It's the Coen Brothers - while I don't think this is as good as many others say, and I prefer other movies over this one, it is still just the kind of movie only they could make. Frances McDormand is perfect as a pregnant cop and you know things are going to get interesting when a woodchipper is involved.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jeremy 01/19/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Only a Coen film could have a tagline like "A Homespun Murder Story"; but here it is. Among the most respected films of the 90's, Fargo is a story with a simple message that is told through a funny yet thrilling display of master filmmaking. With memorable and quotable dialogue that pokes fun at the simpleton residents of Minnesota (the homestate of the Coens), Fargo shows the strength of pure and honest love for one's family as well as the corruptive power of money. "There's more to life than money, ya know?" says Margie Gunderson, our pregnant police protagonist. After seeing the hell that is raised and lives that are lost while trying to obtain a big bag of money we can be sure to believe her.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
2016 by Randall
Top Ten Films of 1974 by KingoftheCorn

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy