Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Ed Wood (1994) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Ed Wood (1994) DVD from AmazonBuy Ed Wood (1994) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

Matthew Brady 08/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This might be the best Tim Burton movie that I've seen in a while.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

theCriticalMarisa 07/23/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The only reason I gave this movie a semi-decent rating is because I found Martin Landau's Bela Lugosi to be absolutely incredible. If I hadn't known better, I would have sworn it was actually Bela! Other than that, eh. I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to watch it again. This from someone who's favorite director is Tim Burton and favorite actor is Johnny Depp.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/22/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a step in a different direction for both Burton and Depp, who abandon their previous more macabre pairings in favor of a heartfelt story of the weird dreamer that was Ed Wood. Not to be forgotten, Martin Landau gives a special and poignant portrayal of aging actor Bela Lugosi.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 10/28/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

In my opinion, this is Tim Burton's best film. A funny and sincere biography about one of cinemas most unique directors. Johnny Depp plays Ed Wood with great quirk and a likable personality. An enjoyable film for film lovers.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 05/02/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I have to say that this is definitely one of Tim Burton's best movies. It was panned by critics as being too dark and too "presumptuous" an undertaking by director Tim Burton, as well as being more of a parody than a biography, but I beg to differ. The acting (especially on the part of Martin Landau) was nothing short of superb. Sarah Jessica Parker, Patricia Arquette, Bill Murray, and of course Johnny Depp added to the texture of the film. A great, brilliantly funny biography on the good ol' days of Hollywood underdogs, "Ed Wood" is a sure win.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I always thought this was a really great movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

kcvidkid 09/03/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I liked this movie so much more the second time around. I love movies that fictionalize and recreate the behind the scenes genesis of other movies (i.e. "Gods and Monsters".) It's like "Famous Monsters of Filmland" come to life! But what I like most about "Ed Wood" is not that man himself, rather his sad friend, Bela Lugosi. That part of the story is very touching, while still adding some humor to the obvious hilarity of Ed Wood and his misguided desire to make movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ilovetimburton 05/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

There weren't a whole lot of jokes cracked but the movie was hilarious because of Ed Wood's ineptitude in making movies

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Strange, quirky film about the strange and quirky filmmaker, Ed Wood. Depp is great! Anyone who like off-beat comedy will like this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I love this wonderful film about the terrible filmmaker Ed Wood. He really is terrible, but you'd never know, because this is a charming movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy