Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Donnie Darko (2001) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Donnie Darko (2001) DVD from AmazonBuy Donnie Darko (2001) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 

Matthew Brady 07/24/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The demon bunny rabbit. The film is about a movie of a teenage boy who sees an imaginary six foot tall bunny rabbit who tells him when the world is going to end. This movie has good story and a good cast.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/25/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

One of the oddest and weirdest movies I have ever seen, but I love every second of it. The best scene of the entire film and one of my favorite movie scenes ever, the dinner scene.... "You are such a fuckass." Did you really just call me a fuckass? You can go suck a fuck." .......What's a fuckass?"

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Kaileigh 10/05/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I am crazy about this movie. The concept is fantastic, and it took me a couple of times to sort of understand the movie. I often read that this movie is overrated, but the devotion around this movie is completely warranted. It also deals with content such as insanity and an afterlife. A thought provoking film that I found absolutely incredible.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The film lost some of its significance for me when it became clear that director Richard Kelly wasn't as on top of his universe as many believed him to be. However, the film still holds great visual power and interesting thematic content dealing with the afterlife, destiny, and social convention. It's trippy, funny, and often very sweet, but overall, the mystery of Donnie Darko and its elusive meaning is what gives the film its allure.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Danny 06/10/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Afilm that leaves you talking / thinking long after you've finished watching it... Brilliant. If you need more explained as you watch, seek out the Director's Cut version (personally, I don't think it's as good at the theatrical version though...).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/23/2011 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I didnt like this movie when I 1st saw it but I watched it again cauz everybody was talking about it & I still dont like it

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/27/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The only thing that I understood about this movie was that Jena Malone is really cute.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 08/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

If you find this movie hard to understand, you're not the only one. This is one of the strangest movies I've ever seen. But hey, thats what makes it a cult favorite.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/31/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The word "cult" was invented for movies like Donnie Darko, a film which unquestionably splits opinion. Difficult to define and even harder to pin down, Darko is an astonishingly good debut movie by director Richard Kelly (who so far has failed to live up to his potential). This is a film which explores the pain of growing up and blends it into a time travelling Sci Fi Fantasy. Audacious, moving and highly imaginative with a star making performance from Jake Gyllenhaal, this is a film which defies convention and is a surreal and mind bending trip into a unique and visually impressive world.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

comfortablynumb 11/22/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of my favorite movies; the original is way better then the directors cut in my humble opinion at least.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Juan
Movies First Seen in 2018 by royaluglydudes
Marvel Movie Ratings by The WHB
Top 2011 by frenchfreyteetor
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
movies of 2019 by skater4159
Want to Watch by Oldpinkdogbar

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy