Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Mama (2013) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Mama (2013) DVD from AmazonBuy Mama (2013) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Ian 09/28/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Not going to lie, this movie was scary at certain times. The plot is solid and it has a well-thought out ending.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

thenoth 01/19/2014 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

It starts off good. It gives you hope. Makes you excited. And just when you start to think "This is good" it just turns to shit. The excitement disappears and is replaced by boredom and anger. They tricked you. The children was really creepy and you thought mama would be even creepier. Instead she was ridiculous. And the ending was the worst I've seen in a very long time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 01/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A couple are the only living relatives of nieces who were left alone in the forest for five years. Yet after they take charge of the girls they find out maybe they weren't alone after all. I want my mama.mama.this movie was very creep I mean yeah the CGI is terrible but the movie itself is creepy and feaky.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 07/21/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

This movie had potential. A few good actors, some decent writing, and a slightly intriguing premise. Unfortunately, all of this is wasted on routine scares and a non-menacing completely CG ghost. There is no atmosphere, or buildup of tension. A few scenes that start out creepy are ruined by predictable jump scares. And 'Mama' herself is shown too often, in all her cartoony CG glory. I really wanted to like this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 06/19/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I have to admit I was hoping for more out of this. Compared to other recent horror films I've seen (Sinister, even Dark Skies) I don't think the atmosphere was nearly as good - nor was I impressed by "Mama" herself. Overall, it's a decent horror film, but just didn't grab me like I thought it would.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

theCriticalMarisa 05/17/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Interesting story and good acting. This movie was well done, but it's not at all scary. Like, at all. They made Mama sort of goofy looking, which made me laugh a couple times. The ending is cool.. I'd watch it again, but wouldn't go out of my way to see it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

smeagol 05/16/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

basically a horror movie with more kids who see things etc but this time its aliens , its like a thousand other movies everyone seems to be the same story.. the kid see's something acts odd etc. things go bump in the night but nothing really happens. most of it is just silly really. the ending of this movie is awful.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Amber 05/12/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I just finished watching this movie and I must say it is really good. The ending is sad but fits in with the movie and I was not disappointed. There a few jump at you moments that got me good. All in all, this was not a bad movie. I will be recommending to my friends.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/27/2013 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Mama is, unfortunately, a mishmash of bits and pieces from past (better) entries into the horror canon. It's unfortunate, because, the film really touches on some beautiful visual sequences and you can see Del Toro's creative producing hand in some of the more transcendent and experiential sequences (such as the ethereal climax.) The film does have its tense moments and, for the most part, executes them effectively. Still - ultimately, its substance is lacking and the film's plot never becomes engaging beyond a superficial level.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ionut valentin 01/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

interesting but lame ending. over and over, same ingredients: music crescendo at key moments, the dark, blabla.I am sorry. for the audience. I am not scarded of say it. yours, Seven.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy