Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Dead Poets' Society (1989) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Dead Poets' Society (1989) DVD from AmazonBuy Dead Poets' Society (1989) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie list Write Review + Request correction + Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

Ivana 04/13/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Carpe Diem: seize the moment. This interesting film is an exciting mirror in search of deeper unser inviting experience, watch, find peace within ourselves and not in external things and be free. A markable reflection on the influence of the educational system on potential repressed, using poetry and outstanding dialogues. One of my favorite quotes: "We don't read and write poetry because it's cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for." A highly recommended film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 05/26/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Feelgood melodrama starring a thankfully more restrained Robin Williams. Rather over-rated because of it's reliance on cliches and a liberal dose of schmaltz; the whole "Aye my captain" nonsense just looks ridiculous.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 04/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Good story, good cast. An affectionate drama for teens and young adults. I have to give it extra points for it's more meaningful portrayal of college age adolescents. Thoughtful and inspirational.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 01/17/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A good movie all-around. Robin Williams is great in what would be a career defining role. But, it was lacking the certain something, I just can't quite put my finger on it. I wish the charcters would've taken a stand sooner, but I think that was the point of this film. That stand wasn't going to happen until the last scene. But, check this one out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/10/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Robin Williams shines in his role as a down-to-earth and caring teacher, trying to see his pupils recapture a love for learning in a very strict school. The film features many inspiring moments and a solid balance between the poignant and the uplifting. A true classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/13/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Very inspiring movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 01/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Oh captain my captain! Gotta love it : )

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Katie D. 10/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Carpe Diem! Seize the day! O Captain, My Captain! This movie just swept me off my feet. It's a movie about a teacher (Robin Williams) who teaches a classroom of young boys that they can make thier lives worth something. The movie teaches us that any dream is possible and we shouldn't turn our backs on what we dream for just because it isn't part of the norm. This movie should be seen by everyone. More importantly for younger kids. It sends an amazing message and everyone needs to hear just once in thier lifetime.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 10/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The thing that stood out the most in this film was the cinamotography.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alexa 03/10/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie makes you want to live everyday like its your last. It starts with just a group of over achievers that you think they are going to be stuck up and arrogant, but that is not the case in most of the characters. I really was interested in every character. Peter Weir showed you just enough for you to feel there pain and where the motivation of having this Dead Poets' Society is coming from. This is an incredible movie. One of my favorite movies of all time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
 Login with Facebook
For members wanting to use FB to login, click here
remember me  
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Comments about...
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by hoods_breath
Horror Movies to watch 2014 by Nathan
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
Movies I've Watched in 2014 by burr896
LGBTQAPIQA by Gremista
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Movie List by willrsylvester
Top Movie List by Danish

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations FilmCrave Friends    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy

MeltedJoystick.com

Hitfix.com

GQTI.com

Hangar1.com

TrailerAddict.com

OVGuide.com

Digitaldreamdoor.com