Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Moonrise Kingdom (2012) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Moonrise Kingdom (2012) DVD from AmazonBuy Moonrise Kingdom (2012) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Rod 01/27/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I'm not sure what is the message of this movie. I appreciate the cinematic techniques (though I do not get what's all the panning for). Coming of age story that I'm not sure if it's about love or life as a whole. The kid actors are... I cannot even...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 01/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

From the director of the fantastic fox come's. moon rise kingdom. this is the best movie of 2012 I mean the acting and the directing is good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Marielle 07/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

two weard kids find eachother, and it seems like they were made for eachother. The movie doesn't ressemble anything thats coming out lately, and it's refreshing to watch something i haven't seen before (reminded me a little of "Flipped", but just a little ;) Loved it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/15/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Rushmore and the Royal Tenenbaums will, thematically, always be Anderson's best work, in my opinion, but I would say that Moonrise Kingdom is probably his third best film. The movie crafts a bold adventure story and plays with adult themes, such as love, duty, and family, through a child's perspective. Anderson's full visual pallette is on display here, as usual, and the film is gorgeous throughout. The real interest, though, is a few additions to Anderson's usual cast of collaborators. Bruce Willis plays completely against type and shows subtle comic timing, and Ed Norton is equally as good as a bumbling scout leader.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 01/30/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Just another great Wes Anderson film. Quite frankly, he doesn't make bad movies, but this one is one of his best. It's a quaint little love story between two "tweens," if you will, (I hate that word). They both are considered outcasts, especially on this little island of very few people in the northeast, actually filmed in Rhode Island. One of the very best films of a very good year for movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is Wes Anderson at his finest. It immediately gives off the same vibe as the Royal Tenenbaums. But it evolves into something much cuter and deeper. Like most of Anderson's movies, an all-star cast stepped up to the plate and delivered excellent performances. Norton and Willis took on their roles perfectly and brought the movie to the next level. The relationship between the two kids is beautiful and heartwarming. Their love comes off as deep, while maintaining sense of innocence and immaturity. This should be one of the most talked about by the Academy this year.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 07/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What sets this Wes Anderson feature above his previous is the awkwardly charming romance and childhood innocence that pervades the film. The story is unique, the characters are genuine, and it's undeniably funny. This is just a pleasantly enjoyable watch. I loved it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I liked it better than Wes Anderson's last few films. The cinematography was incredible with great scenery, colors, props, etc...The story was kind of decent as well. There were a few parts that I really loved but the rest was, to be honest, kind of dweeby. The couple sitting next to us walked out so at least I stayed, if that says anything.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy