Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Coraline (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Coraline (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Coraline (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

Matthew Brady 03/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The film is about a young selfish girl discovers a door in her house that leads to a parallel world that on the surface seems better, but beneath the veneer is something sinister and it will take cunning and resourcefulness to get back home and save her real family. This movie is really scary and I am not kidding you this movie scared me and other people may argee with me. the movie is stop motion and I think stop motion makes everything look creepy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/03/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Coraline was the animation sleeper for 2009, a film that packed a lot of charm and wonder into an underrated package. The story and dark comedy, courtesy of the great Neil Gaiman, are unique and thoroughly well-done. The visuals and direction by Henry Sellick (one of the geniuses behind The Nightmare Before Christmas - though Tim Burton usually gets all the credit) are creative and stick with you long after the film. Coraline is not just a film for children, but pushes back on adults with coming of age themes itself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Farnood 04/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

A little boring but classified animation

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/25/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Destined to be a cult classic, Coraline is a rare beast of a movie, a children's film that is scary, creepy and genuinely macabre. A fantastical fable with dazzling visuals, stunning stop motion animation and a storyline that neither condescends or attempts to preach. An almost old fashioned un PC story along the lines of Roal Dahl or Alice in Wonderland blends seamlessly with modern technology overflowing with inventive design. Coraline is a vibrant, haunting and imaginative horror story, which while aimed at children, should appeal to all ages.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Wonderful stop-motion animation combined with a pretty good story. My only problem is the voice talent seemed off - not bad per se, just a little flat. Still, for the visuals alone it's worth a watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

yuhui 11/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

Right from the start, the 3D experience was mesmerizing. During the introduction sequence, when a doll is being sewed, I thought I could feel the doll if I just stretched my hand out. This is one movie where the 3D experience was definitely worthwhile. Based on the novel by Neil Gaiman, I certainly wasn't expecting a run-of-the-mill children's show. Though this movie had its dark tone, I think children, especially those who can appreciate films other than those that Miley Cyrus appears in, will enjoy this show. It'll make children feel wishful (if not too frightened by the visuals) and adults whimsical. Full review at Yuhui's Movie Blogger: http://bit.ly/32TsqQ

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 10/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A pretty good movie, entertaining enough for adults and for kids. I'd probably have a child read the book first before watching the movie, there are some images that can come off as frightening. The animation was great and the story had just enough elements to keep me engaged.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 10/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

First off, excellent film. Can't complain. It's almost as good as 'Nightmare Before Christmas.' Which says something, but if this film was ment for little kids... Holy hell. It scared me a little and I'm 17, haha. It's a good film, the the whole button eyes thing... Woah...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Holas 09/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The book it more enjoyable than the movie, but the movie is great. I read one of Neil Gaiman's books a long time ago, 'Neverwhere' and loved it. So, I'm at Port Authority in NYC waiting for my bus and walk into the book store and notice this book. I decide to buy it, purely for the author's name, and loved it. When I heard they were gonna make a movie, I was kind of skeptical, but it was great. this was the second book that i had just finished reading where within three months the movie comes out. It is so great to have faces for these incredible characters. Dakota Fanning, keep up the excellent work!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 08/23/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Coraline does a great job of bringing one of my favorite books to the screen. The movie is fun and beautiful. The animation is really interesting and different and really made the movie for me. The other mother is as terrifying as I imagined her to be. The movie isn't quite as spooky as the book, which would be hard to match.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Top Movie List by SIngli6

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy